Yuletide

“Yuletide”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Since it is not even Thanksgiving yet, it may seem a little early to be writing about Yuletide.  However, I am not thinking of the season, but the plant – Camellia sasanqua ‘Yuletide’.

I have written before about mislabeled plants in nurseries, and last year I got burned by a mislabeled sasanqua.  It was supposed to be Yuletide but was not in bloom, so, even though it had two labelings, it turned out not to be Yuletide.  I particularly wanted Yuletide to place by the front door.  The entry garden is basically a red and purple color scheme, and Yuletide has a single deep red flower which would be perfect.

Yesterday, my sister and I went on what we like to call a garden field trip.  We visited six nurseries looking for plants for fall and winter color.  At the fourth garden shop we visited, there was Yuletide in bloom.  Since camellias tend to be slow growers, I wanted the largest one I could find (that wouldn’t be too expensive).  The one I bought is about three feet high and covered in buds.

I already placed the container in a dark blue ceramic pot and placed it near the front door.  I want to keep it in a container so that when it is finished blooming, I can easily move it to an area where it will get more sun.

The photo does not show the flower as it really is which is a dark red.  I don’t know what it is about digital cameras and the color red, but red never seems to come out true.

Over the next few weeks, there should be an abundence of bright red flowers that will act as a focal point.  I only wish they would last through December thereby having this sasanqua truly living up to its name.

13 Comments

  1. deb said,

    November 2, 2008 at 6:28 pm

    Yuletide is my very favortie camilia. It grows great here in the shade.

  2. Brenda Kula said,

    November 2, 2008 at 6:36 pm

    That in blue sounds lovely. I visited a nursery myself today with my gardening neighbor. Bought snapdragons and pansies and a yucca.
    Brenda

  3. November 2, 2008 at 6:54 pm

    The Yuletide is very pretty. I can only imagine its red beauty! And there is such beautiful detail in the middle…wow!!!

  4. Jan said,

    November 2, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    Deb, I have wanted a Yuletide since I saw it in a Southern Living magazine article about three years ago. I usually don’t like single flowers, but this one has such a great color that I just fell in love with it.

    Brenda, I have blue glazed containers on my front porch, and they do look nice with red and purple. I bought some more violas yesterday and a ‘Red Sensation’ cordyline which I’ll write about later.

    Alexandra, this is a very pretty camellia. When more flowers are in bloom, I’ll take another photo from a distance. The colors seem to be truer than when the photo is a closeup.

  5. nancybond said,

    November 2, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    What a beautiful bloom! It is Christmasy, even if it isn’t “Yuletide”. 🙂

  6. Jan said,

    November 3, 2008 at 4:33 am

    I agree, Nancy. I am hoping that some blooms will be around for Christmas.

  7. fairegarden said,

    November 3, 2008 at 5:07 am

    Hi Jan, garden field trips involving nurseries and plant buying are the very best kind! Wish I was there too, I love to go even when I am not the one buying. What a fabulous color of flower. I can see why you wanted one. We just bought three C. ‘Cleopatra’ for half price at the big box to put in our containers. It was all they had, we were lucky to get those for they had many buds. Hope they don’t get frost bit!
    Frances
    http://fairegarden.wordpress.com/

  8. Jan said,

    November 3, 2008 at 5:13 am

    I agree that nurseries are great places even if you are not buying anything. You were lucky to get your camellias at a good price, and they should look good in containers. That’s where I am keeping Yuletide. Take some photos of your new purchases in their containers.

  9. Randy said,

    November 3, 2008 at 7:01 am

    True color or not, it’s still a beautiful bloom. Jan, Jamey and I just got some new camellias this year and they are very leggy. I know they probably need pruning but I have no idea about it. Do you have any reference suggestions?- Randy

  10. Curtis said,

    November 3, 2008 at 7:17 am

    Very nice flower. I wish they would grow here in zone 6 b. Maybe someone already developed a variety for my zone.

  11. Jan said,

    November 3, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    Randy, you might want to check out this web site about pruning camellias – http://www.abc.net.au/gardening/stories/s1724266.htm
    It depends on how old the camellia is as to how it is pruned. I am assuming yours are still small, but leggy, so I would tip prune them. I hope this helps.

    Curtis, check out these web sites for lists of cold hardy camellias – http://camellia-ics.org/_ics/ackerm1.htm
    or – http://members.cox.net/vacs/cold_hardy.htm
    You might want to look into some of those. My sister in northern Virginia grows some in containers that she brings inside during extreme temperatures, so that too is a compromise.

  12. Anne said,

    November 5, 2008 at 12:22 pm

    Yuletide blooms amazingly out here in southern Cal… great plant! Another beautiful sasanqua is “Apple Blossom.” Looks just like the name. Plus, its fragrant, like many of the sasanquas.

  13. Jan said,

    November 5, 2008 at 4:39 pm

    Both types of camellias do well here, too, and I am looking forward to my little plant growing and blooming for years to come.


Leave a Reply

