Sea of Blue

“Sea Of Blue”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

We are waiting on the rain.  We haven’t had any rain in over seven weeks, and things are pretty dry.  I have been having to water just about every day, but hopefully it will rain tonight or tomorrow.  It was lightly drizzling when I was driving home tonight about 6:45pm, and I am taking that as a good sign we will have rain very soon.

While we are waiting for some precipitation, I thought I would share one more photo of my sister’s garden.  Maybe all this blue will encourage Mother Nature to send a lot of rain our way.

torenia-reduced

This is her bed of torenia.  This is the more prostrate kind that spreads out very well.  By the end of the season, the plants have covered just about every inch available.  It makes a wonderful hanging basket, too, because of its densely branching habit.

These plants are a great hot weather substitute for pansies.  Used in mass plantings as the above picture shows, they really create quite a show.  I guess, with it being so late in the year, these plants won’t last too much longer, but they certainly have added a great deal of color to the garden.  Now, if only we would get some rain, my newly planted pansies might survive to give some color to a winter garden.

12 Comments

  1. deb said,

    November 6, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    Sounds like we are in the same situation with the rain situation. We got a tiny bit last night, but it didn’t do much good.

  2. nancybond said,

    November 6, 2008 at 9:04 pm

    Oh, that’s a beautiful, true blue! Another plant I was not familiar with. According to Wiki, they are also called Wishbone Flowers. No wonder!

  3. AnnA said,

    November 6, 2008 at 11:58 pm

    I’ve never seen Torenia get that big! It is one of my favorite annuals. Sothern Living named it plant of the year one time…don’t remember the year. I made a greeting card from their bloom once. We grow it in Semi-shade here in NC. That is sure a pretty mass of them above. How often does your sister fertilize them? I heard they are heavy feeders.

  4. Jan said,

    November 7, 2008 at 5:43 am

    Deb, we are still waiting for rain. We didn’t get any last night though the weather people are predicting that we will have showers today. I am keeping my fingers crossed. With darkness coming on so early now, I am having a hard time keeping up with the watering after work.

    Nancy, the reason they are called ‘Wishbone” is that in the center of the flower is a little wishbone looking structure. These are great flowers for a garden or container.

    My sister says that for the twenty or so years she has been gardening at this house, she has been amending the soil. Now, everything she plants grows extremely well. These are heavy feeders so I am assuming she must hit them with a little liquid fertilizer every three weeks or so, I’ll have to ask her.

  5. Randy said,

    November 7, 2008 at 7:29 am

    Jan,
    We are suppose to get some rain today, or at least that was the forcast earlier in the week. But, you guys usually get it before we do… I know it’s raining pretty hard in north Alabama right now.

  6. Phillip said,

    November 7, 2008 at 7:49 am

    We woke up to rain this morning. I hope we get lots because I think we are around 12 inches below normal.

  7. mothernaturesgarden said,

    November 7, 2008 at 10:03 am

    The torenia is so blue. What is the dark leaved red blooming plant?

  8. Jan said,

    November 7, 2008 at 4:02 pm

    Randy, we didn’t get even one drop today. It rained where I work but not at home. I am getting ready to pull out the hoses one more time.

    Phillip, I hope you did get some rain, but as my comment to Randy show we didn’t. We haven had any rain since Hurricane Ike, and if I wouldn’t be watering every day, just about every plant would be curled up and brown.

  9. Jan said,

    November 7, 2008 at 5:07 pm

    MNG, yes the torenia is a lovely color. The red leaf plant in the background is a coleus plant.

  10. Racquel said,

    November 7, 2008 at 6:47 pm

    Wow what a beautiful sea of blue that Torenia is creating in your garden. We’ve been getting too much rain, wish I could email you some!

  11. Brenda Kula said,

    November 7, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    I don’t know where I’ve been, but I’ve never seen, or maybe never heard of, that plant before.
    Brenda

  12. Jan said,

    November 8, 2008 at 6:39 am

    Racquel, I wish you could get some rain here. The front came through, and we got nothing.

    Brenda, you have probably seen torenia, but just didn’t know its name because this is a fairly common plant. It does come in other colors. I like the pink, too.


Leave a Reply

