A New Pink Diamond

“A New Pink Diamond”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana


In my effort to have more blooming perennials, for the last few years, I have been planting amaryllis bulbs in the garden.  These plants are hardy here and do very well growing outside.  Last year I added two new varieties, Elvas and Appleblossom to the ones already planted.  I have been looking to plant some pink ones and, fortunately, I have found some.  Wal-Mart had their bulbs out a few weeks ago, and for the first time they had something besides Red Lion and Appleblossom.

 

I picked up two Pink Diamond amaryllis and am hoping they are as pretty as the picture shows.  I plan on starting them in containers and then planting them in the garden in April.  When I buy amaryllis that are meant for forcing, I usually do not plant them until very close to Christmas or just after Christmas.  I do this because the house is decorated for the holidays, and these extra flowers are really not needed.  But, after all the decorations come down, the blooming amaryllis is a cheerful addition to those gray winter days that always seem to follow the holidays.  Another reason is that with the decorations put away, these flowers stand out and are not lost amongst all the holiday adornments.

 

 

pink-diamond-redu

 

 

Pink Diamond should be gracing the dining room come January, and, then, next year it will be blooming in the garden.

11 Comments

  1. fionad said,

    November 12, 2008 at 7:27 pm

    Hi Jan,

    Thank you for telling me what the pretty bulbs are in my garden. I love the pink diamond you have bought. They certainly are lovely flowers, and last quite a while.

    Kind regards,
    Fiona in Western Australia 🙂

  2. November 13, 2008 at 2:16 am

    Gorgeous oh… I’m late, I haven’t planted any yet. I use to have one called President Johnson if I remember correctly, it is white with thin red edges /Tyra

  3. Jan said,

    November 13, 2008 at 5:34 am

    Fionad, you are welcome. It is hard to know every plant that may pop up in your garden. The long lasting quality of amaryllis is one of their best features, but, of course, it is the flowers that keeps me planting them.

    Tyra, breeders have been coming up with so many new varieties of amaryllis it is just amazing. They are one of my favorite flowers, and we are so lucky to be able to grow them outside in our mild climate.

  4. nancybond said,

    November 13, 2008 at 9:17 am

    That’s a spectacular pink! I’m sure it will be gorgeous.

  5. Jean said,

    November 13, 2008 at 10:25 am

    Jan, I would love to see how you use them in your garden. Maybe next spring you can take a picture for me??

  6. franniesorin said,

    November 13, 2008 at 1:38 pm

    Jan-

    boy, are you lucky to be able to put them out in your garden so early. I have always admired gardeners who have a plethora of amaryllis in bloom on mantels, tables, etc during the holiday season. It makes a home so incredibly festive and warm. Thanks for sharing. Fran

  7. Brenda Kula said,

    November 13, 2008 at 5:48 pm

    Shoot, I was at Walmart this morning and meant to look at the bulbs and I forgot. I love the picture that depicts the amaryllis. It should be gorgeous in the garden.
    Brenda

  8. Alex said,

    November 13, 2008 at 8:16 pm

    Hey…I want some pink diamonds gracing ME! 😉 hee hee Hope you are having a good week.

  9. Jan said,

    November 13, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    Nancy, I think it should be a pretty pink, too. I guess we will find out soon enough when it blooms. I’ll post a photo.

    Jean, I will be taking pictures of the amaryllis that are growing in the garden. The red ones have been particularly pretty. They usually start blooming sometime in March.

    Frannie, being in the deep south has its advantages. We are able to start spring gardening very early. It is also nice that we can grow amaryllis outside, too.

    Brenda, you are just going to have to go back and see if they have the bulbs. I think pink diamond should look very nice in the garden. I plan on planting it where other pink flowers are.

    Alex, I wouldn’t mind some pink (or white) diamonds on me, too. But, I think I’ll have to settle for an amaryllis. You have a great weekend.

  10. naturegirl said,

    November 15, 2008 at 7:01 am

    I am facinated by the idea! I love your idea of forcing them after Christams and I agree they do get lost amongst all that glitters! I live in a Canadian zone 6 so I don’t think I could place outdoors but with gardening it’s always trial and error so this idea is worth a try! I came in by way of Tyra’s and so glad that I did!
    Nice to meet you!NG

  11. Jan said,

    November 15, 2008 at 7:42 am

    NG, so glad you stopped by. Even though you may not be able to plant the amaryllis outside, you can keep them in containers, and they will bloom again. That may be a solution because you are a zone 6. If they are in containers, you can control when they bloom. So, if you want them for the holidays, or springtime, you can do that. I think it is a shame that some people just throw them out after the holidays.


Leave a Reply

