Coffee Cups

“Coffee Cups”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

 

Coffee cups aren’t just for drinking.  I am referring to a colocsia called “Coffee Cups”.  It plant name is Colocasia esculenta.  It is called coffee cups because of its cup-shaped leaves.

 

coffee-cups-redu

 

 

This example is growing in my sister’s garden.  She has it growing near her pond under her queen palm trees.  The ‘cups’ formed by the leaves collect the flowers that drop from the bloom clusters hanging about ten feet above them.

 

 

This plant has striking almost black stems and can grow as tall as five feet.  The  leaves form a cup which can hold water.  Cold hardy to zone 7, a fast grower, dramatic foliage, great color, what more could a gardener ask for?  Maybe a cup of coffee while sitting among the coffee cup elephant ears?

 

 

 

7 Comments

  1. tina said,

    November 14, 2008 at 7:18 am

    These are outstanding. Love the name coffee cups.

  2. Racquel said,

    November 14, 2008 at 11:22 am

    She’s a beauty! I love Colocasia for their dramatic foliage.

  3. Brenda Kula said,

    November 14, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    I love the texture and veins in those leaves. I had something similar inside my small pond in a pot. It got so big it kept falling over, so I had to cut it back.
    Brenda

  4. Patsi said,

    November 14, 2008 at 5:12 pm

    Love these plants. Unfortunately elephant ears never came back for me.
    I’m a lazy gardener…won’t dig up plants over the winter.

  5. Jan said,

    November 15, 2008 at 7:49 am

    Tina, lately growers have been coming up with some cute common names for the new varieties. There is another elephant ear called ‘Mickey Mouse’ with leaves shaped a little like Mickey’s head, and there is even a little tail. I’ll have to post some photos of that one, too.

    Racquel, I agree there is nothing like elephant ears for adding a touch of drama and a tropical feel to a garden.

    Brenda, I guess you will have to divide your plant in the spring. Lucky you, two plants.

    Patsi, I am lucky to live in an area where these do not have to be dug up in the winter. I admire the gardeners who live farther north and all the effort they exert digging up tender plants and bulbs to overwinter. I don’t think I could do that – too lazy.LOL

  6. Phyllis said,

    July 19, 2009 at 3:52 pm

    I have one and love it but maybe it’s getting too much sun in the PM. The leaves turn brown and I trim them down, but it does keep producing – should I put it in more shade-it’s on my covered patio. The afternoon sun does bear down on it.

    • Jan said,

      July 24, 2009 at 9:24 am

      I think I would move it, Phyllis. What is the point of having a great plant if you never have it looking good? Afternoon sun can be a killer. While these can take sun, the more sun the more water they need.


Leave a Reply

