Waiting Is Hard to Do

“Waiting Is Hard to Do”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

In September my sister and I received our order from Zydeco Iris which we promptly planted.   Louisiana Irises are planted in the fall after being dormant in the heat of the summer.  I am happy to say that the irises are doing well after what I thought was a rocky start for two of them.  Marie Dolors was described as being vigorous, and that turned out to be true.  As soon as it was in the ground, new leaves started sprouting out.  When this iris arrived, the leaves were few, small and about three inches high.  Now, the foliage is almost twelve to fourteen inches high. 

 

 

marie-dolors-cropped-redu

 

This rhizome should produce some splendid white flowers in the spring.

 

Another one I bought was a rose pink, Persistent Cuss, and it, too, has done well.  While the plant is not as large as Marie Dolors, it is coming along nicely.  This one is also supposed to be vigorous once established.

 

poverty-point-redu

 

 

Two other ones that I bought, at first, did not seem to be doing as well as the above two.  Poverty Point, a gorgeous medium rose pink, and Irish Bayou, a deep rose pink , lost all their leaves, and I thought they were lost.  Poverty Point’s rhizome even looked yellow while Irish Bayou kept its green.  Even so, I just kept watering these two hoping they would recover.  Well, just the other day while walking around the garden, I was thrilled to see that Poverty Point has sprouted leaves in two places along the rhizome.   So, it looks like that one has survived.  Irish Bayou, still has no leaves, but the rhizome looks good, so maybe I am just a little too impatient for it to rebound.  I feel certain that it should start to put out foliage any day.

 

I can’t wait for spring to see these Louisiana Irises in bloom.  It is hard to have new plants and have to wait for months before the flowers show up.

 

Note:  Happy birthday to a very special daughter.

4 Comments

  1. Randy said,

    November 22, 2008 at 8:24 am

    Jan,
    I know what you mean. I got about seven different irises two years ago from a lady in Michigan and they have yet to bloom. One of them had HUGE fans this year (over three feet) and not a single bloom. I hope I get to see them next year.

  2. Brenda Kula said,

    November 22, 2008 at 10:00 am

    I haven’t gotten a lot of flowers out of my irises. They are ones that were already here when I moved here nearly four years ago. I’ve moved them all about the yard. I’ve snipped them down with scissors when they look raggedy. And they still shoot back up with enthusiasm. Seem to be a hardy bunch. Now if I can just get them blooming and see what color they are…
    Brenda

  3. Racquel said,

    November 22, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    Yes it is, but when they bloom it will be worth the wait! 🙂

  4. Jan said,

    November 23, 2008 at 7:30 am

    Randy, it is disappointing when anticipated flowers don’t appear the first season. I have some butterfly irises from my mother that have never bloomed. This past spring I moved them to a sunnier location, so I am hoping this coming year will see some flowers.

    Brenda, I have some yellow flag irises from a neighbor that have not bloomed. They have one more year before I yank them out. Garden space is too valuable for non bloomers.

    Racquel, yes, when those blooms appear, it is worth the wait. But, somehow, the wait seems harder when you don’t know exactly what the flowers will look like.


Leave a Reply

