Got My Ducks in a Row

“Got My Ducks in a Row”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

I am trying out something new this year.  Baby Duck yellow petunias.  Here in the Gulf South, we use petunias as winter annuals.  My sister had these petunias last year in her garden, and they were fantastic.  These petunias have small flowers (1-1 1/2 inches), but the flowers are numerous.  This is a spreading petunia, and if my sister’s experience is typical, these plants are vigorous and should be placed at least 15 inches apart.  They are supposed to spread 3 feet and do require more frequent feedings than the typical petunia.

But it is the masses of soft yellow flowers that is the real selling point.  The trumpet shaped flowers have a yellow throat which fades to white at the flower’s edge. These are great in a hanging baskets or in a bed in the landscape.  I planted mine in a bed where in the spring there will be mostly pink flowers, so I think these little petunias will look fine.

2008-1124-baby-duck-redu-005

Today, I had the day off and finally was able to get all my Baby Ducks in a row.

8 Comments

  1. Jon said,

    November 24, 2008 at 11:43 pm

    Jan,
    Clever post….I like your way with words and your humor. This is a new petunia variety to me and I have not seen them locally, but certainly would like to give them a try. They sort of look like a patch of “wild petunias” I saw last spring in the country but yours are yellow instead of the very pale blue ones I saw. Did your sister’s bloom and stay hardy even in the coldest part of winter? We are to the north of y’all and sometimes get really sharp, nasty cold spells here in January…..as in ice storms and wicked quick temperature drops….which have wiped out hybrid petunias I have tried to grow in previous years during fall and winter here…much to my dismay as I love the rich colors of certain ones like “Sugar Daddy”. I always like to grow petunias in hanging baskets and I’ll bet your “Baby Ducks” would be spectacular in them. The fragrance of petunias, especially in the late afternoon on my patio, is a feature I really like.

    Hope y’all have a very Happy Thanksgiving.

    Best regards, Jon at Mississippi Garden

  2. November 25, 2008 at 1:39 am

    Very pretty, odd name though, where did they get that from…/ Tyra

  3. Jan said,

    November 25, 2008 at 5:16 am

    Jon, thanks for the complement on my writing. The Baby Ducks were available around here just last year. This year they not too plentiful, but the way they perform will surely make them very popular. My sister’s did last through the winter. We, too, can have a quick dip in the temperature, and if the forcast is in the low 20’s, I cover my petunias and have had them come through fine. In the entry area, I usually plant red and purple ones, and Sugar Daddy is one of my favorites to use. I, too, love the fragrance of petunias, and Baby Ducks is very fragrant.

    Tyra, I am not sure how these petunias got their name, I can only assume it is because they are smaller flowers and a pale yellow that they reminded the grower of baby ducks. I think the name is cute and rather appropriate.

  4. patientgardener said,

    November 25, 2008 at 6:19 am

    Here in the UK petunias are summer bedding so it does seem strange to me to hear someone refer to them as winter bedding. I do like the idea of them as Baby Ducks though

  5. Jan said,

    November 25, 2008 at 6:49 am

    Petunias can’t take our summer heat, so that is why they are a better winter annual here, lasting from November to May. In late April or early May, we pull them out and put in the summer annuals. Remember, we do have fairly mild winters on the Gulf Coast. Most winter days are in the 50’s or 60’s, and night time temperatures only occasionally get below freezing and then for only a few hours. Though we can get a real killing freeze, that really only happens rarely. The last one we had was a good ten to twelve years ago. Our mild temperatures is what allows us to garden year round.

  6. Randy said,

    November 25, 2008 at 7:06 am

    Jan be sure to take some pictures when they grow in, I want to see what they look like. 🙂

  7. tina said,

    November 25, 2008 at 8:01 am

    I like these petunias, they are darling. Glad you got your baby ducks in a row too.

  8. fairegarden said,

    November 25, 2008 at 10:53 am

    Hi Jan, what a sweet color and name for those little lovelies! I do wish we could have a few more winter flowers here besides the pansies and violas but should be happy with them. I love yellow petunias and will be watching yours.
    Frances


Leave a Reply

