Buried Treasure?

“Buried Treasure?”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

Wednesday, as I was weeding out an area of the garden that contains some Louisiana irises, I came across a buried treasure.  No, it wasn’t pirate treasure, but it was interesting.  I found one of the turtles that has been crossing our paths for about twenty years half buried in the iris bed.  I wrote about finding the turtles in the garden during the summer, but I have not seen them since about August.  So on Wednesday, I just pulled out some weeds, and there he was.  It is a good thing we don’t walk in the garden beds or this guy might have been squished.

 

buried-turtle-redu

 

Only about half of his shell was visible, and there was a small opening where I could barely see his head.  When I first ripped out the weeds above him, he did squirm a little, but then was still.  I knew that frogs and turtles would bury themselves in the soil in winter time, but I thought that maybe it really didn’t get cold enough around here for them to do that.   I guess, this proves I am wrong.  It has not been that cold around here, only cool, but it seems that it was enough for this little guy to want to snuggle down in the mud to wait for warmer temperatures.

 

After taking a photo of my little buried treasure, I carefully finished weeding around him, added some compost as a side dressing and then mulched the bed with pine straw.  I hope this all made for an extra cozy winter bed for this turtle.  Now, if I can only find where the other two turtles are settled in for the winter.

13 Comments

  1. Racquel said,

    November 29, 2008 at 9:05 pm

    Hmm..I didn’t realize that turtles and frogs buried themselves to stay warm. Good thing you found him.

  2. Jan said,

    November 29, 2008 at 9:20 pm

    Hey, Racquel. No one could have been more surprised than me when I saw what I had uncovered. The more I garden, the more I learn about all of nature.

  3. AnnA said,

    November 29, 2008 at 11:33 pm

    That gave me goosebumps. What a nice experience to have. I agree it is an awesome treasure.

  4. Sunita said,

    November 30, 2008 at 2:53 am

    Jan, thank you so much for stopping by my blog with your prayers and good wishes. You dont know how touched I am that my circle of blogging friends are concerned enough to pray for us in these terrible times. Thank you.
    As for your buried treasure, I would’ve been really startled if that had happened to me. But what a nice discovery!

  5. tina said,

    November 30, 2008 at 6:05 am

    That is such a cool find! Maybe not better than buried pirate’s treasure but pretty awesome! I’ve never seen this either. He must like your garden.

  6. Jan said,

    November 30, 2008 at 7:00 am

    Anna, I was surprised and thrilled to see that turtle. It is the rare occasions when we encounter nature like this that makes us appreciate it even more.

    Sunita, I just can’t get this terrible tragedy out of my mind. I feel for you and your city. Thanks for stopping by my blog, maybe that little turtle distracted you for a little bit.

    Tina, I think it is better than pirate’s treasure. I hope this means I have a great little ecosystem here.

  7. Alexandra said,

    November 30, 2008 at 3:51 pm

    awwwww…I LOVE turtles! Poor little guy! Thank goodness you found him. =) Hope you’re having a good Sunday. *hugs*

  8. Brenda Kula said,

    November 30, 2008 at 4:13 pm

    I can’t imagine! I found a snake last week. I would much rather it have been a turtle, as I never see turtles in my garden. How on earth do they breath down in there, I wonder? I’m sure that question sounds stupid, but I really do want to know. What a great find!
    Brenda

  9. Martha said,

    November 30, 2008 at 6:33 pm

    It’s 42-degrees and windy here in northeast Oklahoma so I was in the shed checking and repoting plants this afternoon.
    One pot I pulled down off a top shelf has a little grey frog hunkered down in it. I wasn’t sure what to do, so I just moved the pot to a larger pot so he could move around if he felt jumpy.

    It’s one of the joys of living “out” and gardening – finding creatures and critters. In the past two days one possum and one armadillo have been caught and moved to a better spot, i.e, outside our fence and closer to a nearby creek.

    Martha

  10. Jan said,

    November 30, 2008 at 8:07 pm

    Alexandra, I am glad I found him, too. Hope you had a great weekend.

    Brenda, I have occasionally seen a snake in our garden, but I would much rather find a turtle. It did have a little slit around its head not covered with mud. Being cold bloodied animals, I know its whole metabolic processes slows down, so it doesn’t have to breathe as much.

    Martha, the other day when I was pulling out the soaker hoses from the garden, a little grey frog jumped out of the end. It is amazing when cold weather starts how creatures find all kinds of places to hunker down.

  11. Jean said,

    December 2, 2008 at 11:13 am

    What a very cool thing to stumble across! Do the turtles eat any of your foliage? If so, I guess they could be a not-so-cool thing. But still, finding something like that is really special.

  12. December 5, 2008 at 8:08 am

    That’s really cool — I had no idea, either, that they did this. Wow!

  13. Niccii said,

    December 8, 2008 at 4:37 am

    What a treasure! What a wonderful thing to come accross. It’s strange to see you going into winter when our summer is just beginning. You’re garden must be really special to you.


Leave a Reply

