Finally Fall Color

“Finally Fall Color”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

A few weeks ago, I was grousing about not having any pretty fall colors here in the Gulf South while all the more northern bloggers were displaying absolutely gorgeous photos of trees in all their autumnal glory.  Well, we finally got some color for Thanksgiving.  We have had enough cool weather to finally start the color process.

 

The Bradford pear tree went from green to orange in just about two days.

 

brad-redu

 

brad-clsp-redu

 

With the bright blue skies that seemed to really set off the colors, this made up for not having the colors show up earlier.

 

The crepemytle tree has turned a lovely golden color.  We don’t have many trees that change color as you can see from the green in the background, so the ones that do change are extra special.

 

crepemyrtle-redu

 

I know that most bloggers farther north have already moved on to winter photos and are probably tired of the autumn colors by now, but come springtime, we southern bloggers will have a head start on spring flowers, so I guess it all evens out.

10 Comments

  1. tina said,

    November 30, 2008 at 7:21 pm

    Love the crepe.

  2. Gail said,

    November 30, 2008 at 7:47 pm

    We love the extended fall viewing you are giving us! I am not ready to let fall go and embrace winter! Gail

  3. Jan said,

    November 30, 2008 at 8:09 pm

    Tina, the crepemyrtle is lovely and worth the wait for it to turn colors.

    Gail, it is a little hard to face the cold weather, and autumn can be so lovely. I can understand your reluctance to let it go.

  4. nancybond said,

    November 30, 2008 at 11:11 pm

    I’d never tire of autumn color! How great that you have some just in time for Thanksgiving. (Hail is tap-tapping on the windows as I write this here in Nova Scotia. Ugh.)

  5. Jan said,

    December 1, 2008 at 4:28 am

    Nancy, last year it wasn’t until after Christmas that we got any color on the trees and shrubs. We have had cold weather earlier this year, so the color change came at an appropriate time of year. It was lovely for Thanksgiving.

  6. Brenda Kula said,

    December 1, 2008 at 12:05 pm

    I have especially enjoyed autumn this year. I don’t recall one so beautiful. Maybe I’m just noticing more with a camera in hand!
    Brenda

  7. December 1, 2008 at 4:53 pm

    Hi Jan,
    I’m kind of jealous of longer-lasting warm weather. I grew up in the northeast, having lived in PA, NY, ME, and OH. Now living here in VA is a bit milder than those other states, but it still gets cold, and we still get snow. I love the color of your crepe myrtle. Mine have no leaves at all at this point. I am seriously thinking about continuing to post only bright floral photos on my blog so I don’t succumb to depression this winter! Jan

  8. Jan said,

    December 1, 2008 at 6:21 pm

    Brenda, we, too, have had a wonderful autumn. I never remember the weather being so nice – cool, dry air. Usually we are pretty warm into November.

    Jan, my sister lives in northern Virginia, and she tells me how the weather can be so cold and snowy. I wouldn’t blame you if you did keep posting summer photos to help you through the dark, dreary winter days.

  9. Jennifer said,

    March 13, 2011 at 8:36 am

    Do you need to fertilize crepe myrtles to get them to bloom? I planted 3 several years ago and although they seem to be growing nicely they haven’t bloomed yet. By the way I live in Covington also.

    • Jan said,

      March 13, 2011 at 9:52 am

      Hi, Jennifer. It is a good idea to fertilize crepe myrtle trees. Mine are very old, and I have never fertilized them. If yours are not blooming and they are getting enough sun, make sure you prune them in very late winter or early spring. I have seen some crepe myrtles that just don’t bloom. Both my neighbor and my sister has ones that don’t bloom and can’t figure out why. I hope that isn’t your case.


Leave a Reply

