Rakes

“Rakes”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

It’s getting to be that time of year.  Yes, that’s right.  Time to rake up all the autumn leaves that only a few weeks ago everyone was oohing and ahhing over.  Around here we usually rake up leaves and pine needles three times – November 1st, December 15th and February 15th.  We do this because first the leaves and pine needles fall, then just more pine needles, and finally the live oak leaves start coming down around the end of January.  This year I didn’t get around to the first raking until the last week in November and there is still about a quarter of the yard left to do.

To do all this raking we depend not only on the ordinary rakes but more importantly the Power Rake.  There is no way I could do all the raking I have to do without this wonderful rake.  What makes it so easy is that when you pull the rake towards you, the 24 inch head gathers all the leaves, pine needles etc. and the upper shield prevents them from tumbling over the front.  When you push it forward, the tines just roll right over leaves, so you rarely have to lift the rake up.  It just glides back and forth gathering up whatever you are raking up.  The handle is very ergonomically designed, so there is no back or wrist strain.  Because the head is so wide, it makes raking even large areas go very quickly.  Dear hubby has a large, wide bamboo rake that he likes to use also, but because I am short, I can’t comfortably use a wide rake.  However, because the power rake does not have to be lifted after each stroke, I can use this one for hours.

power-rake-redu

And, then there is my trusty little blue rake.  After the pine needles are raked into large piles, this is the rake I use to pick up the piles and distribute around the garden.  As you can see, if I had to rake with this, it would take weeks to finish our rather large yard.  Dear hubby is constantly trying to get me to use a newer rake, but I find this one just perfect for my small frame.  Besides, I have had it so long it is now probably considered vintage and in a few years could be a valuable antique.

little-rake-redu

We have several other rakes, metal ones, one with an adjustable head, plastic ones, and even a “grabbit” rake, but to get the job done, I really only need the power rake and little blue rake.

4 Comments

  1. Brenda Kula said,

    December 3, 2008 at 6:57 pm

    I need this too! I have a bad back, and won’t even use a broom in the house, as I’ve been told it’s very hard on the back. I use an electrical thing. I’ve had back problems since my twenties. This could sure make my life easier!
    Brenda

  2. tina said,

    December 3, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    That bamboo rake is pretty neat. I’ve never seen one.

  3. Patricia Louque said,

    December 5, 2008 at 1:56 am

    Where did you get your power rake. I could really use one like that.

  4. Jan said,

    December 5, 2008 at 7:30 am

    Brenda & Patty, the power rake is unbelievable in how fast and easy it makes raking up leaves and pine straw. I am sorry, I should have told you where you could buy one. We bought ours at a craft fair locally, but Lee Valley Tools carries them. It is not inexpensive, but believe me this is one tool that is worth every penny. There is no way we could clean up after a tropical storm or hurricane without this one rake.


Leave a Reply

