Purple Sweetie

“Purple Sweetie”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

purple-viola-redu

Here is another sweet little viola that is blooming in the garden right now.  I have already posted photos of the yellow, white, and the white and purple violas that I planted about a month ago.  They all seem to be doing very well.  These bright little flowering plants are hardy here in the coastal south.

One thing about pansies and violas is that they are heavy feeders.  They need a shot of liquid fertilizer about every two weeks.  When it is cold outside, it is hard to start working with liquids.  Nothing chills the hands like the combination of water and cold temperatures.  One thing which helps delay the need for liquid fertilizing, that I learned from my father, is to sprinkle blood meal around these plants when you are first planting them.  It gives them the boost they need, and you can wait a little longer before dragging out the hose, filling up a watering can with icy water, and trudging out in the cold to apply liquid fertilizers.  Of course, the blood meal also allows you to delay fertilizing for a little while in the hopes of a warm spell showing up.

This little purple sweetie is a great addition to the other violas and a wonderful winter flower.  I can hardly wait for all of them to get bigger and really start putting out the blooms.

3 Comments

  1. Gail said,

    December 5, 2008 at 8:37 am

    I wished I had remembered the blood meal when I planted these cutie pies. We are having unseasonably cold weather. Once it warms up I will feed the violas and watch them thrive! Thanks, Gail

  2. tina said,

    December 5, 2008 at 9:15 am

    I love all the violas and yours are no exception.

  3. Jan said,

    December 6, 2008 at 8:27 pm

    Gail, I think the using of blood meal is an old-fashioned one. My dad was the only one I ever heard of who did this. Pansies were one of his favorites and he planted them every year.

    Tina, thanks. I think the violas are an exceptional winter flower for us.


Leave a Reply

