Garden Friends

 “Garden Friends”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Every time I go out into the garden, I am being shadowed.  Nothing sinister here.  It is just Rusty, our garden cat, who is a great garden companion.  Whenever I am working in the garden, he is right there checking out and supervising what I am doing.  If I go out to just sit quietly or read, he is right there with me sitting quietly or taking a nap in the chair next to me.  We always have considered ourselves to be dog people, but after being adopted by two stray cats, we have learned to appreciate the feline nature.  They really aren’t that cold and aloof, but can be quite affectionate and loving.  Here is Rusty hunkered down waiting for me to be finished taking garden photos.

 

rusty-redu

 

Another little garden friend belongs to the neighbors across the street.  She spends most of her days in our garden sleeping in the ferns or under the boxwood.   She, too, was a stray that they adopted after Hurricane Katrina.  She doesn’t follow us around the garden like Rusty does, but she will sit close by and watch our every move.  Blackie will attentively listen as I talk to her while I garden.  She always looks at me as if she understands every word.  Here she is intently watching a squirrel that is across the yard.

 

blackie-redu

 

Just like the birds that contribute color, song, and movement, pets add another dimension to a garden.  If anyone would happen to just walk up while I am in the garden, they probably would think I am a little batty and talking to myself.  But, on closer inspection ,they would see one or both of these furry garden friends close by taking the time to pass the day with me in the sunshine and fresh air.

7 Comments

  1. Racquel said,

    December 16, 2008 at 7:05 pm

    They are such great companions to have in the garden. 🙂

  2. Phillip said,

    December 16, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    Cats are wonderful company in the garden. Mine are usually around when I’m working. I just love them.

  3. tina said,

    December 17, 2008 at 12:28 am

    They are the best in the garden! I agree. My little Orkin looks very much like Rusty and she is very affectionate too. I couldn’t imagine the garden without them all. You are very nice to take in strays.

  4. December 17, 2008 at 3:30 am

    Nice to have company when you’re doing something – a company that doesn’t disturb you especially. I love your neighbor’s cat – Blackie. She seems to find your garden the best site to hang out, eh!

  5. Jan said,

    December 17, 2008 at 7:34 pm

    Racquel, I think I will always have to have a garden cat after having Rusty and Blackie around.

    Phillip, I agree that cats are the best. Having three cats has been a very enjoyable experience.

    Tina, the strays really adopted us. Over the years we have taken in two strays (only Rusty is still surviving), and three shelter cats (only two living with us now). They are worth it just for their entertainment value.

    Chandrmouli, Blackie certainly is a sweetie and makes a good companion.

  6. Nicci said,

    December 25, 2008 at 4:28 am

    Aren’t we lucky they would consider us worthwhile companions?

    • Jan said,

      December 25, 2008 at 6:31 am

      Yes, Nicci, we are very lucky. These gentle, calm creatures have found a central place in our hearts.


Leave a Reply

