Winter White in the Garden

“Winter White in the Garden”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Two weeks ago, we had the rare snow fall here in the Deep South, but the winter white I am referring to now has nothing to do with snow.  The winter white I am referring to has to do with white flowers now blooming in my garden.  White is just about my favorite flower color, and right now several are showing up.

 

wh-pansy-redu

 

The violas I planted about a month ago are settling in nicely.  They have started growing and putting out a profusion of blooms.  The white ones are among my favorites.  I like to pretend they are snow on the ground.  When they really start blooming it is not too big a stretch to imagine there is snow on the ground.

 

paperwhite-redu

 

The paperwhites started opening up this week.  These are ones I received from my sister or ones I have planted in the garden when they finished blooming after being forced for holiday blooms.  I know many experts say to just discard them because forced bulbs won’t do well in the garden, but I have always planted mine and have gotten blooms the next year.  This bulb does well for us in the Deep South because it needs no chilling.  I may pick some for a Christmas arrangement.

 

iceberg-bud-redu

 

This Iceberg rose bud shows that the roses will still put out flowers even when temperatures are still cold.  Because the ground stays warm here, these roses never go dormant and will bloom off and on throughout the winter.  Picking one like this for a small bud vase adds so much to a desk top.

 

Even though we will not have snow for Christmas, because of the white flowers in the garden, we still will have a white Christmas.

15 Comments

  1. December 21, 2008 at 11:24 pm

    Just LOVE those paperwhites. I’ve never had any, and want to get some. I wonder if it’s too late to plant bulbs:-( Probably! Oh well…another year:) Jan

  2. LindaLunda said,

    December 22, 2008 at 1:08 am

    Hi!
    I hope you will have a ….
    MERRY CHRISTMAS!
    Linda

  3. Chandramouli said,

    December 22, 2008 at 4:47 am

    So white and now I like this white than the snow white!

  4. December 22, 2008 at 6:54 am

    Hi Jan, how abolutely wonderful! I must admit, I know it is bad but I’m so jealous, all those beautiful flowers….my Paperwhites are 2 cm ‘tall’ that is less than an inch and they are in my greenhouse! Thank god it has turned now and we are going towards longer and brighter days.
    I wish you and your family a joyful and Merry Christmas. / LOL Tyra

  5. Randy said,

    December 22, 2008 at 7:49 am

    Jan,
    I drove down to south Alabama to see my parents and I kept seeing Paperwhites everywhere.–Randy

  6. Jan said,

    December 22, 2008 at 8:20 am

    Jan, it wouldn’t be too late to plant paperwhites in a container. They would bloom in late January, and then in the spring could be planted outdoors. I usually plant containers of them after Christmas for late January/February blooms. They really brighten the house on those cold, dreary winter days.

    Linda, thanks and the same to you.

    Chandramouli, after seeing what the snow is doing up North, I am glad this is the only white we are seeing here.

    Tyra, I know I am very fortunate to live in an area with mild winters. I know it must be hard for a gardener to wait out cold, dark winters that more northern latitudes have. Have a great Christmas.

  7. Jan said,

    December 22, 2008 at 8:26 am

    Randy, paperwhites are a great bulb for naturalizing in the South. I think they are such great flowers for this time of year. I hope you had a great visit with your parents, and that you and Jamie have a wonderful Christmas.

  8. tina said,

    December 22, 2008 at 9:56 am

    They are a joyous white.

  9. Jan said,

    December 22, 2008 at 10:06 am

    Tina, I just love white flowers esp. in winter. Since we have so many evergreens here, the white flowers really stand out.

  10. Jon said,

    December 22, 2008 at 3:33 pm

    Jan,
    Way cool background/wallpaper with snowflakes falling! That goes nicely with your lovely photos of your white flowers. I’ll bet you have Bing’s classic “White Christmas” playing in your house as well. Interesting that y’all got snow recently….and in Vicksburg we didn’t get even one flurry….just rain, but 10 miles east of Vicksburg and elsewhere it snowed like crazy….matching the crazy weather patterns seen all over the U.S. this year. Let’s hope 2009 will be more “normal and stable” and better in every way…..particularly the economy. Hope you have a wonderful holiday season.

    Jon at Mississippi Garden

  11. Jan said,

    December 22, 2008 at 4:16 pm

    Jon, I can’t do better than to echo your sentiments about 2009.

  12. Racquel said,

    December 22, 2008 at 9:50 pm

    Wonderful winter whites in your garden right now Jan! I didn’t realize you guys & gals down south could grow Paperwhites in the garden. Lucky! Have a very Merry Christmas & a Happy New Year!

  13. Jan said,

    December 23, 2008 at 11:44 pm

    Racquel, yes, we can grow them outside, and they come back year after year. You have a great Christmas, too.

  14. Nicci said,

    December 25, 2008 at 4:23 am

    It’s wonderful to live in such a mild climate where you can have flowers even in winter. We have the same, but on the other side of the globe. We love white flowers in the garden so much that we hardly have any other colours. Our blue agapanthus snuck in there by accident and we don’t have the heart to take them out. Another exception are our heliconia’s as they look just wonderful in red and hot pink. Happy New Year!!

    • Jan said,

      December 25, 2008 at 6:27 am

      It is good to know that others share my love of white flowers. While there are other colors in my garden, I do have one area that is only white. Have a Happy New Year, too.


Leave a Reply

