Pink Beauties

“Pink Beauties”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

We have been having warmer weather this last week with temperatures in the low 70’s.  This has caused our big camellia bush’s buds to start opening.  This “bush” is about 18 feet tall and was here when we moved in.  We figure it must be about 50 years old, so this must be one of the old-fashioned ones.  It is still a very pretty winter flower.

 

single-camillia-redu1

 

I will pick some to bring in the house which always brightens the inside during the winter.  If the flower is a single on a stem, I will put it in a vase, but usually the blooms are clustered in groups that do not open at the same time, so I take the open ones and float them in a bowl which are then placed on a table for all to enjoy.

 

dual-camellias-ii-redu

 

It is having lovely flowers like this in the middle of winter when other gardeners are experiencing frigid temperatures, that makes those high, humid temperatures of summer in the South bearable.

 

6 Comments

  1. tina said,

    December 23, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    Wow! That is one big camellia and lovely too. I like the old fashioned ones for sure. Merry Christmas Jan.

  2. December 23, 2008 at 8:20 pm

    Cool! It definitely looks like a Christmas deco – dark green and red. It’s lovely. Merry Christmas!

  3. Jan said,

    December 23, 2008 at 11:50 pm

    Tina, it is a big camellia, I didn’t know they grew that big, but I love it.

    Chandramouli, this is one of the few remaining plants that was here when we bought our house. I look forward every year to its blooming.

  4. Jane said,

    December 24, 2008 at 7:55 am

    Oh, these are so gorgeous. It must be nice to have these flowers in winter. I miss having flowers in my garden at this time of year.

  5. Ann said,

    December 28, 2008 at 7:24 am

    Oh you are so lucky! I posted a photo (Dec. 15 Bloom Day) of my small-blossomed camellia my father started from seed. But what a beauty you have here. Wow! Fabulous blog as well.

    • Jan said,

      December 28, 2008 at 7:44 am

      Ann, don’t you just love camellias? Because this camellia is so big, it does put out a tremendous amount of flowers and is spectacular. I had a seed on one of my sasanquas and am encouraged to read that your dad started one from seed. I am hoping mine does sprout.


Leave a Reply

