O Tannenbaum

“O Tannenbaum”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

O Christmas tree, o Christmas tree
How loyal are your leaves/needles!
You’re green not only
in the summertime,
No, also in winter when it snows.
O Christmas tree, o Christmas tree
How loyal are your leaves/needles!

christmas-tree-redu

O Christmas tree, o Christmas tree
You can please me very much!
How often has not at Christmastime
A tree like you given me such joy!
O Christmas tree, o Christmas tree,
You can please me very much!

O Christmas tree, o Christmas tree
Your dress wants to
teach me something:
Your hope and durability
Provide comfort and strength
at any time.
O Christmas tree, o Christmas tree,
That’s what your dress should
teach me.

 

I hope everyone has a happy, safe, and enjoyable Christmas Day.

11 Comments

  1. Gail said,

    December 25, 2008 at 6:17 am

    Merry Christmas….lovely song and photo!

    gail

    • Jan said,

      December 25, 2008 at 6:32 am

      Thanks, Gail. That is a photo of this year’s tree that is gracing our living room. Have a Merry Christmas.

  2. linnie said,

    December 25, 2008 at 9:46 am

    Jan
    Your tree is simply lovely. I have enjoyed your blog so much and look forward to many more visits. Merry Christmas and a wonderful and happy New Year.

    Linnie – Destrehan, LA

    • Jan said,

      December 25, 2008 at 6:55 pm

      Thanks, Linnie. I hope you had a Merry Christmas, too. This is a great time of year for families to be together.

  3. December 25, 2008 at 6:33 pm

    Hi Jan, Merry Christmas to you too. Hope you had great fun. We at office had contests for Christmas like singing rhymes (I was the victim in my department or should I say I became the perpetrator?), floor decoration (we decorated our desks with cotton, with lights covered in red sheets, wow! it really was heavenly), and many more. I definitely loved it!
    Nice poem

    • Jan said,

      December 25, 2008 at 6:58 pm

      Chandramouli, sounds like you had a lot of fun at your office. I am glad you had a great day.

  4. December 26, 2008 at 12:30 am

    Lovely tree! I look forward to my day when I check in on your blog. I really enjoy visiting with you everyday. Merry Christmas and happy New Year.

  5. December 26, 2008 at 12:30 am

    love the icicles on your tree. Must get some for mine.

  6. Jan said,

    December 26, 2008 at 6:57 am

    Thanks for the kind words about enjoying my blog, Patty. Wish you could see the tree in person.

  7. December 26, 2008 at 2:02 pm

    Merry Christmas, Jan! I’m glad you had a wonderful day, as did I. I hope the New Year will be a wonderful one for you and your family. Jan

  8. Jan said,

    December 26, 2008 at 9:54 pm

    Jan, thanks for the good wishes. I am glad you had a wonderful day. I hope everyone else did, too.


Leave a Reply

