New Things Showing Up

“New Things Showing Up”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

A few new things have shown up in the garden in the last few days.  For about five days now, we have been having, hot humid weather, and this has caused some early visitors.  This morning while walking around the garden just to check thing out, I noticed this bumblebee still sleeping in a paperwhite flower.  As I moved in closer to take the photo, he didn’t even budge.  I wonder where these little guys go when we do have freezing weather.

 

bee-in-paperwht-redu

 

Close by the paperwhites, one of the small daffodils opened.  This is very, very early for them, but like I mentioned, we have been having  very warm temperatures – we hit 80 degrees for the third day today.

 

yellow-narcisus-redu

 

We had another visitor right next door yesterday morning.  It was a deer.  I was out taking pictures, but didn’t get one of the deer.  I heard it crashing through the neighbors bushes, but when I turned to look, it was to late to snap a photo.  This is the first time we have seen deer in our neighborhood, and we have been here over thirty years.  It did move off rather quickly, and for my plants’ sake I hope it does not return.  A large area about three miles from us has been cleared out for a shopping center, and we figured with the loss of habitat, the deer just moved to the river, followed it down, and ended up in our subdivision.  It looked scared and disoriented, and I felt sorry for it.  I hope it made its way back to the river area where there is a wild area.  It seems such a shame that we are not taking wildlife into consideration when we start to build in forested areas.

8 Comments

  1. patientgardener said,

    December 28, 2008 at 3:15 am

    I saw a bumble bee outside my kitchen window the other day although it was very cold. We are being encouraged to provide home for bees here in the UK through wildlife programmes. Things like upturned flower pots filled with straw and moss and then pushed into the ground and also big bamboo canes cut to about 15″ and pushed into the ground – many bees are solitary and are happy to hibernate in these sorts of creviches during the cold weather.

    • Jan said,

      December 28, 2008 at 6:41 am

      Thanks for the info on hibernating bees. Now that you mention it, I have seen a bee inside a bamboo stake in the past. I guess I need to make sure there are a few more shelters for these little creatures.

  2. Phillip said,

    December 28, 2008 at 8:29 am

    It was 75 here yesterday. I can’t believe you have humidity though. You have my sympathy! It is amazing to see what is blooming for you this time of year.

    • Jan said,

      December 28, 2008 at 9:55 am

      Yes, humidity has been 100 or close to it for several days. Everything has been wet and drippy. Last night a front came through, and we should get a little relief for the next few days before it backs up again. While I am not too fond of our recent weather, I will take it over the weather the poor northern part of the country is experiencing.

  3. Brenda Kula said,

    December 28, 2008 at 1:55 pm

    I so strongly agree! That’s exactly what’s happening around here. Too much construction without enough regard for wildlife.
    Brenda

  4. val said,

    December 28, 2008 at 1:56 pm

    Jan .. it is so nice to see a daffodil . Ah it reminds me of home. I was thinking about your comment re an illustrated journal to pass on. you could certainly do it with photos and writing in a lovley book..and add pressed leaves. I press lots of leaves and preserve them in different ways..they are so beautiful and fragile. I will do a post about it soon….

  5. December 29, 2008 at 3:17 am

    Hi Jan! Nice blooms as ever in your garden. So sad that we’re least bothered about wildlife and think of stacking humongous boxes of buildings on earth without caring for their habitat. I guess it’ll be too late before we actually realize it and change. Hope that doesn’t happen. Let’s pray and pass on the message in our everyday conversations.

  6. Jan said,

    December 29, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    Brenda, I think that is happening too much in too many places. I understand growth, but this constant tearing down of trees to make way for new developments while there are vacant buildings still available is not good planning. It is not just the animals that suffer, either.

    Val, that is a very good idea that I never thought of. Thanks for telling me this because it is a great alternative to those of us who cannot draw.

    Chandramouli, I couldn’t agree more. There were many people around here who tried to stop this new development, and while they did get some concessions, it could not be stopped.


Leave a Reply

