A New Start

“A New Start”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Today is Garden Blogger’s Muse Day, day to post a favorite poem.

Thanks to Carolyn Gail of Sweet Home and Garden Chicago for starting Garden Bloggers’ Muse Day.


This poem seems appropriate for starting out a new year.

2008-12-31-start-ii


A New Start

by

Bernard Shaw


I have wiped the slate clean,

No more reminders from the past.

Memories of what I have been,

Have vanished at long last.

I look forward to my future new,

Where all is territory strange.

Soon I will be among the few,

That plans their life at long range.

I see my life laid out at my feet,

New friends shall rally at my call.

They will be the first that I greet,

At this my welcoming ball.

Soon all memories will depart,

Of a past left well behind.

I will get off to a new start,

With the best of all mankind.


I hope the New Year brings everyone peace, good health, and happiness.

8 Comments

  1. January 1, 2009 at 9:23 am

    What an appropriate choice of poem for the New Year – I hope 2009 is good for you Jan.
    Regards
    K

  2. tina said,

    January 1, 2009 at 10:07 am

    Wonderful! I love the new years for just this reason!

  3. January 1, 2009 at 11:16 am

    I agree, it’s a great choice of poem with good thoughts for a positive start to a new year. Here ‘s wishing you a very happy one, Jan!!

    Jan D.

  4. January 1, 2009 at 11:18 am

    Great poem, Jan. Happy and Bloomy 2009!

  5. Brenda Kula said,

    January 1, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    That reminds me of a dream I keep having these past few months. I wake up and think I am about 18 years old again. And then I realize that no, I am much older. And it sinks in. At first I am sort of scared at being nearly 52. Then I realize I wouldn’t want to be 18 again!
    Brenda

  6. carolyngail said,

    January 1, 2009 at 9:26 pm

    Great selection, Jan. Thanks so much for contributing to GBMD. Happy New Year to you and yours.

  7. Racquel said,

    January 2, 2009 at 9:22 am

    Wonderful choice for the New Year Jan! Hope you have a Happy New Year!

  8. Jan said,

    January 2, 2009 at 7:53 pm

    Thanks everybody for the feedback on New Start. They say whatever you do on January 1st, you do for the rest of the year. Thank goodness I was able to work in the garden because of the mild temperature. I transplanted three plants I have been wanting to move for a long time. I sure hope this means I will be able to do more gardening in 2009.


Leave a Reply

