Insects

“Insects”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

The recent warm spell has brought out the insects.   Mosquitoes, it goes without saying, have shown up, but it is a fact of life that the least bit of warm weather brings them out here on the Gulf Coast.  But other ones were out and about making me think that we just might not have too much more cold weather showing up.

spider-redu

These spiders are usually around in the summer and fall, but I took this photo on 12/24.  This spider had made a web on the back patio, which is not a particularly sheltered area.  A few days later it was gone.

A little more encouraging were the bees or maybe they are bee flies (flies that look like bees) which I just found out about last year.  Here is one on an Iceberg rose.

bee-on-iceberg-redu

Another one on a Mutabillis bloom.

bee-on-mutabilis-redu

Finally one on a paperwhite flower.

bee-on-pprwht-redu

These little guys look like small bees or wasps and do feed on nectar and pollen.  I found out about these curious little creatures when they were buzzing around our camellia flowers last year.  I thought they were bees but found out differently.  It amazes me sometimes how much information you can pick up just in the course of pursuing a hobby.  I have learned so much about other things because I am interested in gardening.  I am always fascinated by the diversity that Mother Nature has provided for our world.

9 Comments

  1. linnie said,

    January 3, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    Jan
    I have never noticed these bee flies here in Destrehan but I will be on the lookout for them. I have noticed what I thought were tiny bees that I did not recognize but I never thought they could be a type of fly. Verrrry Interesting!

    Linnie in Destrehan, LA 1/3/09

    • Jan said,

      January 3, 2009 at 9:32 pm

      I didn’t know about these either until last year when I noticed them on my Lady Clare camellia. I think it was Dan Gill who mentioned that these were flies not bees. When I looked this up on the Internet, I was fascinated to find so many flies that looked like bumble bees or wasps. The flies don’t have a waist like bees do, I think that is one way to tell them apart.

  2. January 4, 2009 at 12:57 am

    Jan, at least your insects seem friendly unlike my invincible red ants!

    • Jan said,

      January 4, 2009 at 7:25 am

      Oh, Chandramouli, we have those too. In fact, just Saturday I had to treat four mounds that had popped up in the yard since Christmas. This past year the fire ants have been just terrible.

  3. Randy said,

    January 4, 2009 at 9:32 am

    Jan,
    Jamie and I noticed several Lady Bugs in the garden when we were cleaning up yesterday as well. Strange isn’t it?

    • Jan said,

      January 4, 2009 at 11:48 am

      It is amazing to me how a quick, little warm up will bring out the insects, Randy. I wish I had some lady bugs here; I just saw some aphids on the evergreen daylilies.

  4. Brenda Kula said,

    January 4, 2009 at 6:43 pm

    I’m amazed to see bulbs blooming already myself! Mine are coming up, but a far cry from blooming!
    Brenda

    • Jan said,

      January 4, 2009 at 8:54 pm

      Brenda, we seem to be about a month ahead of last year when it comes to blooming plants. In reviewing January of 2008, it was a month of hard freezes, so far this year we have had unusually warm weather following an unusually cool fall. I guess the bulbs think it is spring already.

      Alex, I’ll have to check out your blog and see what improvements you have made. Have a good week.

  5. Alex said,

    January 4, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    OK…that spider is wayyyyyy too creepy! 🙂 Hope you had a good holiday!! Sorry I haven’t been around. I redid my blog and just found your blog again.

    **hugs**


Leave a Reply

