Signs of Spring?

“Signs of Spring?”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

What am I seeing?  Signs of an early spring?  Already in January? Our coldest weather is traditionally the second week of January, and so far temperatures are hitting almost 80 degrees.  A cool front is expected in a few days, but no extremely cold weather.  We still could get some freezing, but hard freezes usually don’t occur, except rarely, after January.  With that being said, I am starting to see signs of spring-like growth.  Everything seems to be almost a month ahead of last year.  There are many plants that seem to be breaking dormancy already.

 

The evergreen daylilies are already flush with new growth.  While they never really die back completely, this year they are bigger than ever before with new leaves showing everyday.

 

daylilies-redu

 

The sweet almond shrub is already showing flower buds.  Since this shrub has been in the garden only one year, I am not sure if this is early or not, but I believe it is a tad early for blooms to be starting.

 

sweet-almond-shrub-buds-redu

 

I’ve already written about a few of the daffodils, forsythia, and leatherleaf mahonia flowering early.  This started being a strange time in the garden in mid-summer with plants blooming early.  Then, fall was way cooler than normal with flowers off normal bloom time.  Early winter was weird too, with colder than normal temperatures and even snow.   Looks like late winter in 2009 may be continuing this earlier than normal bloom period, too.  I just hope this doesn’t mean that the hot summer weather will show up early, too.

6 Comments

  1. Brenda Kula said,

    January 5, 2009 at 6:36 pm

    Sweet almond shrub… Not familiar with that. Of course, I’m not well-versed on shrubs altogether. But I’m learning from gardeners like you! As for the weird weather and such, I wonder if it overall has something to do with global warming???
    Brenda

  2. Jon said,

    January 6, 2009 at 12:33 am

    Jan, interesting post…..I was thinking the same thing today as I noticed fuzzy little buds already appearing on my magnolia fuscata and a few mosquitos buzzing around yesterday. The weather patterns have certainly been strange lately. I always worry about all hell breaking loose weather-wise between January 15 and February 15 as that’s when our most erratic weather often takes place….anything from ice storms to barefoot temps and anything in between. I’m hoping for some smooth sailing and not a bumpy ride as we head toward spring.

    Hope you and yours have a Happy New Year and all the best in 2009!

    Jon at Mississippi Garden

  3. Randy said,

    January 6, 2009 at 6:41 am

    Jan,
    The Carolina Jasmine is blooming here and we also saw a little green lizzard this weekend.

  4. January 6, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    Nice to see everyone’s gardens coming lively soon! Great post, Jan

  5. Alex said,

    January 6, 2009 at 5:32 pm

    Wow…I can’t believe flowers are starting to pop up already!! 🙂 I guarantee nothing is blooming here in southern Illinois! 😀

  6. Jan said,

    January 6, 2009 at 8:18 pm

    I am not sure about the global warming (we have had mild winters and early springs before), Brenda, but the weather has been very different the last six months. It is nice to learn about different or uncommon plants. That is one of the best thing about reading garden blogs – finding new plants.

    Jon, I am glad to see that I am not the only one seeing new growth this early. I do worry a little about these warm spells that can be followed by freezes which seem to cause more damage than freezes that are preceded by cool temps. There isn’t really anything we can do about the weather, but now that milder temps are here, I hope they stay.

    Randy, I haven’t noticed any Carolina jasmine blooming, yet. The past weekend while working in the garden, I noticed several tree frogs out and about.

    Chandramouli, it is nice to see flowers and the hints of flowers to come right about this time. I want to be out in the garden puttering around.

    Alex, a long growing season is one of the nice things about living this far South. I know you all still have snow all over and probably can’t wait for it to be gone.


Leave a Reply

