Herb Seedling Update

“Herb Seedling Update”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

A few days back I wrote about an AreoGarden that we received as a gift.  It is designed to sprout and grow these little cups of preplanted seeds hydroponically.  As I said then, I want to use just the grow lights for my own seed plantings.  However, the herb seeds were set up when we brought it home, and here is an update.

 

The seeds are supposed to sprout in 3 to 14 days depending on the type of herb.  The parsley – nothing.  The cilantro – I can see the swollen seeds, but no growth showing.  The chives – a teeny, tiny bit of green showing.

 

The Italian basil has sprouted several plants which look good and healthy.

 

italian-basil-redu

 

The purple basil is looking good, too.

 

purple-basil-redu

 

The dill has sprouted one seed showing a thin, tiny plant.

 

dill-redu

 

And, finally, the mint has produced several seedlings.

 

mint-redu

 

As you can see from these few, paltry seedlings there won’t be a Jan’s Herb Farm starting anytime soon.  Well, at least I know that seeds will sprout with the AeroGarden, and it does give me something green to look at and play with until I can get outside and work in my real garden.

4 Comments

  1. tina said,

    January 6, 2009 at 9:18 pm

    What fun, I think they all look pretty good-and green.

  2. January 6, 2009 at 9:28 pm

    I am jealous of your Aero Garden. I have seen these and wanted one for years, but they seem to be rather expensive. It couldn’t have happened to a nicer person. The seeds look great and I bet they are fun to watch as they change every day. Have fun.

  3. January 7, 2009 at 3:39 am

    Hi Jan, I think they look brilliant, not the pots but the seedlings, how very exciting. I have never grow anything hydroponically but I’m open for new ideas. xoxo Tyra

  4. Jan said,

    January 7, 2009 at 5:50 am

    Tina, it is a way to keep growing things around in the winter.

    Patty, thanks. I never would have bought one either because of the cost. So far, everything seems to be going just like they said.

    Tyra, yes, this is an interesting and different way to grow things.


Leave a Reply

