Showing Up Early

“Showing Up Early”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Yesterday, I wrote about a canna that has flowered already, and it is only the beginning of January.  Of course, I do believe that the plastic dropcloth that accidentally covered it is the reason for the early bloom.  But that dropcloth can’t explain what I saw in my next door neighbor’s garden.  (Gardeners suffering in snow-covered areas might want to look away about now.)  Blooming at least a month early is her Redbud tree.

 

redbud-redu

 

It evidently has been blooming for a few days, but coming home late when it is almost dusk, I just didn’t see it until this morning.   This tree is one of the earliest Redbud’s to bloom in the neighborhood, and it usually means spring and warmer weather is here, but I just can’t help thinking it is too early to count on not having any more cold weather.  I have daffodils that are just starting to pop up, and this tree is already blooming – unreal.  We have had warmer weather lately, but it hasn’t been that warm.   Last January was very cold and maybe that is why it didn’t bloom until February, but I really don’t remember this tree blooming so early before.

I am just not going to worry now about a late freeze, I am just going to enjoy what nature is giving us even if it is extra early.

8 Comments

  1. January 10, 2009 at 8:37 pm

    How many times do I show you a thumb-up sign? [phew] 😀 I can’t grow tired of! Enjoy the blooms and nature’s gift!

  2. Racquel said,

    January 11, 2009 at 12:16 am

    Now I know I have to have a redbud after seeing the wonderful spring display. Just enjoy your colorful bounty Jan. 🙂

  3. Randy said,

    January 11, 2009 at 10:24 am

    Wow! The don’t usually bloom until after dogwoods! This is a bunch of craziness.

  4. January 11, 2009 at 12:25 pm

    Hi Jan, it is an early spring… 🙂 please send some my way. Tyra

  5. Jan said,

    January 11, 2009 at 3:16 pm

    Chandrmouli, even though it is still winter here, we do seem to be having an embarrassment of riches in the spring-blooming flower department. It is a nice change from just a few weeks ago.

    Raxquel, redbuds are among the most beautiful trees when they are in bloom. I particularly love the pink-purple color.

    Randy, you are right, it seems that there is a bunch of craziness going on with all these spring flowers showing up so early.

    Tyra, if it turns out that we really are having an early spring, I’ll try and send some your way if you promise to send some of your cool temperatures to us when we have our sweltering summer.

  6. Brenda Kula said,

    January 11, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    I have been working my tail off all day in the garden. Arranging and rearranging and dragging garden furniture and arbors around. But then we’re due for another freeze tonight. So I’ll be out there covering up my beauties in a few hours…
    Brenda

  7. Jan said,

    January 11, 2009 at 9:33 pm

    We are supposed to have cooler temperatures but are not expecting a freeze or anything tonight. I guess I need to watch the weather tomorrow because we usually get the weather Texas has the next day or two. Maybe there will be a little more winter before spring is here to stay.

  8. Jean said,

    January 12, 2009 at 9:19 am

    Wow, that is really crazy! Having lived in Austin for several decades, I remember redbuds as being one of the first but never in January. Up here in north LA. I haven’t seen any signs of this yet. But the wild jonquils are starting to grow (not blooming yet though).


Leave a Reply

