In the Garden

“In the Garden”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

I finally had some time to really work in the garden and was able to take care of some chores that have been put off for too long.  This weekend I started clearing out an area that adjoins one of our neighbors.  I started some of this last summer, but the heat really got to me, so it had to wait for cooler temperatures.  This job consists mostly of pulling out ferns, honeysuckle, Japanese climbing fern, Virginia creeper and arrowhead vines, cutting out the horribly invasive wild privet, and trimming back overgrown azaleas.  There is no fence separating our properties and the neighbor hasn’t been able to keep up things since she has become elderly and housebound.  Things have just become so overgrown and those invasive vines have to be taken out before they get too big a hold on things.  I am mainly working on our property but also am taking care of some of her area, too.  I still have a lot to do but had to stop because I ran out of trash cans for the branches and cuttings.  I am noticing that as I have cleared areas out of overhanging azaleas and camellias from next door, that my garden area is larger and that means I will be able to put in more plants.  It is always a good thing to find more space for plants.

I also planted and transplanted several shrubs lately.  I still have too many things in containers that should go in the ground.  I keep saying I am not buying anymore plants until everything else is planted, but we all know how those good intentions are destroyed by the sight of a new, unusual, or blooming plant.  I planted the white sasanqua that had been in a decorative container for a year.  It was supposed to be Yuletide, a red flower, but wasn’t.  If it had been red, I would have kept it in the container for the entry garden, but since it wasn’t, I planted it in the ground.  I think it will be happy there.

I transplanted the mahonia from the back garden to the side garden.  This area I am trying to keep woodland looking, so it has more shrubs and shade loving plants.  Since most of the time there will only be the color green there, I am trying to make sure there is a variety of textures and leaf shapes.  I think the mahonia will add both to this area.  At least, it will be in a better place then where it was in the back, and moving it gave the hydrangeas more room.  A good solution for both areas.

mahonia-redu

Finally, I transplanted two palm grass clumps from the back garden to the same side garden.  My sister had given me these several years ago, but I think they will look better in the side garden where they will be seen more than they were in the back.  This has very coarse texture and should contrast nicely with the sword fern and nandina.

palm-fern-i-redu

palm-fern-ii-redu

I think all three of these plants will add to the woodland feel of this area.  It was good to get outside and get some exercise and plant some of things that I had been wanting to do for ages.

4 Comments

  1. Randy said,

    January 12, 2009 at 7:19 am

    Jan,
    I hope you are feeling better now that you got to get out and work in the yard some. That fresh air does you good, doesn’t it? 🙂

  2. fairegarden said,

    January 12, 2009 at 10:16 am

    Hi Jan, I shuddered when you said wild privet. That is one of our worst offenders too, along with the honeysuckle. This is the best time of year for doing those chores I think, no insects, here anyway, and not hot. Having more space for planting is like winning the lottery! 🙂
    Frances

  3. Jan said,

    January 13, 2009 at 5:29 am

    Randy, I do feel better. Doing physical work always seems to get the blues out the door. Also, getting some of the chores that have been hanging over my head helps, too.

  4. Jan said,

    January 13, 2009 at 5:36 am

    Frances, I do HATE that wild privet; it is all over. The vines are worse. We have had a problem with the Virginia Creeper for a few years, but that Japanese honeysuckle has only just started taking over. With our mild climate, they can get well established even in the winter. You are right about this being the perfect time to do these type chores, and I am excited about having more room to plant things.


Leave a Reply

