Peak Season

“Peak Season”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Camellias are reaching their peak blooming season here in the southern part of Louisiana.  The sasanquas start blooming in the fall, and the japonicas start in early winter.   Starting about the second week of January, most of the camellias sport a full flush of blooms. 

 

Our oldest camellia was a big when we bought our house and now is close to twenty feet tall.  This past weekend it was covered in blooms.  Just recently I saw an article with a camellia that looked just like this one, so I think mine is called Lady Clare.  Whenever it blooms, it reminds me of our first winter here and the christening of our daughter.  It was blooming on that day, and I brought in some to float in a bowl for decoration.

 

lady-clare-redu1

 

My neighbor’s red camellia is also in bloom.  This one, too, has been here a long time, at least thirty-five years.  It is near the shared property line, and even though it is not in our garden, we are able to enjoy its blooms.

 

red-camellia-redu

 

Debutant has become my favorite over the last few years.  It is an old-fashioned camellia with a lovely frilly form and the prettiest pink color.

 

debutant-redu

 

So, even though it is the winter, we are lucky to have such lovely blooms gracing our gardens.

 

10 Comments

  1. Alex said,

    January 13, 2009 at 8:03 pm

    These are beautiful flowers! Just kinda creepy that they are blooming during the winter time! 😛 Hope you’re having a good week!

  2. tina said,

    January 13, 2009 at 8:14 pm

    Yes you are! And I am very envious of those beautiful blooms!

  3. Jan said,

    January 13, 2009 at 8:47 pm

    Alex, I guess it seems strange to you because of living in the north. We are used to flowers blooming year round here in the Gulf South.

    Tina, I know I’ll be envious of your blooms when we are in the middle of summer and everything is gasping for a little relief from the heat.

  4. January 13, 2009 at 10:41 pm

    Your varieties are beautiful. The cold gets ours every time. They will look beautiful and be heavy with buds and a cold snap comes and turns them brown.

  5. January 13, 2009 at 11:21 pm

    I envy you for all your blooms. I love ’em all!

  6. Sylvia (England) said,

    January 14, 2009 at 5:21 am

    Jan, my Camilla usually bloom from mid January, so any time now. But we have had a very cold winter, for us, so they may be a bit later to flower. Also from my office window I can see several different large, old bushes which should start flowering soon. I am always amazed at the variety in flower shapes and sizes of the different bushes as well as the different colours, I would guess there is about 15 different ones here. Your pictures illustrate the differences as well.

    Best wishes Sylvia (England)

  7. Randy said,

    January 14, 2009 at 8:41 am

    Jan,
    Debutant is the one I’m trying to root now! I tickled to find out the name of it. Thanks a bunch!

  8. Jan said,

    January 14, 2009 at 7:36 pm

    Anna, how disappointing that the buds are damaged. I think I would have to grow them in containers so that I could protect them to get at least some flowers.

    Chandramouli, these camellias really do make winter brighter for us.

    Sylvia, there is nothing prettier than an old camellia bush in full flower. I think because they bloom when so few other plants are, they stand out and are extra special.

    Randy, Debutant is a beauty. I love both the color and the flower form. It really does remind one of a young, fresh debutant all decked out in a party frock.

  9. nancybond said,

    January 14, 2009 at 10:07 pm

    I should say you are lucky to have such beautiful blooms — the color is very striking.

  10. Jan said,

    January 16, 2009 at 5:16 am

    Nancy, I know we are so lucky around here to still have flowers showing up when so many other people are having such extreme cold weather. I hope these photos brighten up their days a little bit.


Leave a Reply

