‘Shrooms

“’Shrooms”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Up until a few days ago, the ground has been very damp.  With this dampness, mushrooms started appearing.  Normally, I don’t pay too much attention to mushrooms, but with the bland winter backdrop, these colorful fungi stood out.

There were all kinds, such as these tiny, shiny, orange ones that were about the size of a dime.

orange-mushroom-top-redu                                        orange-mushroom-side-redu

 

Brown ones were around, too.

 

brown-mushroom-redu

 

br-mush-side-redu

 

This red one looked like it was made of wax.

 

red-mushroom-redu

 

 

The next two showed off their gills. 

side-brown-mush-redu

 

white-mush-side-redu

 

This little cluster must be over the remains of a dead tree.

mush-cluster-redu

 

I do not know too much about mushrooms, but I did find a website that would be good for identifying these fungi – Mushroom Expert.  Since there are thousands of wild mushrooms, I’ll have to rely on those with a degree in mycology (the study of mushrooms) to expand my knowledge.  Besides the mushrooms that are safe to eat, most mushrooms benefit the environment.  Most mushrooms fall into this beneficial category.  It was interesting to find out that many mushrooms will be found only in conjunction with certain trees.  Some will grow only under certain trees such as pines or oaks that they use as a source of food.  They also play an important role in the decay cycle esp. in woodland areas.

The next time I see a mushroom on my pizza, I will have a different appreciation for this fungi besides its good taste.

 

5 Comments

  1. January 16, 2009 at 10:39 pm

    Cool, colorful mushrooms. Never seen before. All I’ve seen is a disgusting brown striped mushroom in my Aunt’s garden! Great info, Jan.

  2. January 17, 2009 at 5:45 am

    Hi Jan, I find your post very interesting, pretty and informative.I like to pick a lot of fungi every year but I pick only the one I’m dead sure about. Thank you for the link to the Mushroom expert, brilliant.
    xoxo Tyra

  3. Randy said,

    January 17, 2009 at 6:34 am

    Good gracious, Jan! Did you have to lay on your belly to take that second picture? Great shots! I don’t think I’ve ever seen so many different mushrooms growing in one place.

  4. Jan said,

    January 17, 2009 at 7:27 am

    Chandramouli, yes, we do seem to have a lot of mushrooms around. I think it is our high rainfall.

    Tyra, I would never be brave enough to eat any mushrooms I found growing even if I was pretty sure it matched the ones that are edible. I guess this is one area I need to brush up on. Mushrooms are pretty fascinating once you start really looking at them.

    Randy, I just knelt down and put the camera on the ground to take that photo. Since it was still pretty wet, and I also didn’t want the neighbors calling 911 thinking I had collapsed or something, I thought it best not to lie down to take that one. We seem to be having more mushrooms now than ever, and I attribute that to having so many trees taken down because of Hurricane Katrina. I think the mushrooms are living on the decaying roots.

  5. Brenda Kula said,

    January 17, 2009 at 4:09 pm

    I am always curious to know why what particular mushroom happened in my garden or pot! I don’t know anything about them either. But I usually eat my pizza with just mushrooms as the topping!
    Brenda


Leave a Reply

