They Made It

“They Made It”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

As I have written before, I do not have much experience with lilies.  This is only the third year that I am growing lilium longiflorum or Easter Lily in the ground.  The first year, I knew they would do well because they came straight from the growers and then into the garden.  Since the flower was in the bulb from the year before, I was not concerned that they wouldn’t bloom.  Last year, I was a little anxious about the blooms.  Did they get enough sun? Were they planted at the right depth?  I needn’t have worried.  They produced spectacular flowers.

What did surprise me last year and again this year is how early the foliage emerged.  Late fall arrived, and I could see green shoots coming up.  Last winter when we had several hard freezes, I covered the green sprouts with newspaper and then plastic, and they came through with no damage at all.  Last night we had a rather unexpected hard freeze, and I didn’t have a chance to cover the Easter Lilies.  It got down to 28 for almost six hours.  I thought surely that my Easter lilies were going to be nipped back so bad that there would be no blooms this year.

I leave for work when it is still dark, so it wasn’t until this afternoon that I was able to go out and check on them.  Surprise, surprise (at least to me).

 

lilies-redu

 

No damage – none at all; they came through just fine.  I always thought that lilies were rather delicate or fussy plants, but these guys are tougher than I thought.  I had no idea that they could survive a freeze of six hours unprotected.  I am impressed, relieved, and happy that the Easter lilies made it through the freeze and will be able to bloom in just a few months.

9 Comments

  1. January 21, 2009 at 9:26 pm

    Aha! Join the club. Lilies have always been a mystery to me. My Daylily (or that’s what I think it is) is yet to bloom even after more than six months. The nursery woman said it’d bloom the very next month, but all it’s doing is grow leaves like fans and make me look at it longingly every other week!

  2. Racquel said,

    January 21, 2009 at 9:28 pm

    I did this one year with the Easter Lily plant that I bought for my Grandmother in bloom. We planted it in her garden and the next season it came up and bloomed.

  3. Jan said,

    January 22, 2009 at 5:51 am

    Chandramouli, do you think you may have used a little too much fertilizer? I know if you do sometimes the plant produces more foliage than flowers. Of course, sometimes sellers are a little overly optimistic about how a plant will do to encourage you to buy. I am sure it will bloom when the time is right.

    Racquel, Easter lilies have been grown outside around here forever, but I was surprised they could make it through a hard freeze with no damage. I guess always seeing them in pots around Easter made them seem more delicate than they are.

  4. January 22, 2009 at 6:45 am

    Hi Jan,
    Love your blog. Saw your comment on growing orchids at Ewainthegarden.com Phalenopsis will grow indoors in a sunny window as long as you slowly adapt it to the direct sun. One or two hours of morning or afternoon sun should be enough. Please put a feed reader button on your site to make it easier to follow your posts. Thanks

    • Jan said,

      January 22, 2009 at 6:44 pm

      Thanks, Debbie. I would love to grow any type orchid and will give the Phalenopsis consideration if I ever take the plunge.

  5. Randy said,

    January 22, 2009 at 12:45 pm

    I’m happy for you that they made it. I think you will enjoy them for several years to come. 🙂

    • Jan said,

      January 22, 2009 at 6:36 pm

      Thanks, Randy. I still can’t believe they made it through that cold spell without damage.

  6. Brenda Kula said,

    January 22, 2009 at 7:00 pm

    I will add lilies to my list. I’m tired of losing things to freezing weather!
    Brenda

    • Jan said,

      January 22, 2009 at 7:24 pm

      Brenda, I planted a few other lilies other than Easter lilies last year. While they are not as big as the Easter lilies yet, they did not sustain any freeze damage either. I am for planting more lilies.


Leave a Reply

