A Scouting Party?

“A Scouting Party?”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

I have been posting about all the flowers that have been showing up in the garden lately.  It seems that so many are blooming weeks early this year.  One plant that is showing an early flower is an old variety of climbing rosebush that I first got as a rooted cutting from my mother’s rosebush.  We don’t know the name, but I think it might be Climbing Pinkie.  My mother got her plant many years ago from an old friend who didn’t know the name.  I guess that is often what happens with pass along plants – the name is lost.

 

There were only three flowers on the canes so far, and I didn’t see any other buds yet.  Maybe these three are part of a scouting party to see if it is going to be warm enough for the rest of the flowers to show up.

 

cl-pinkie-rose-redu

 

As you can see, this little pink rose stands out against a gray, winter sky.  I hope it tells its friends that it is safe to come out.  I can’t wait for the whole rose bush to be in bloom.

15 Comments

  1. Brenda Kula said,

    January 26, 2009 at 6:42 pm

    I hope you’re not going to get bad weather. We’re seeing it come in tomorrow from Oklahoma, where the winds are sweeping down the plains. Your flower scouter might ought to tell the others to wait till winter’s over!
    Brenda

    • Jan said,

      January 26, 2009 at 7:08 pm

      I think the weather man said that that front would move more east of us, and not be as cold as other places. Of course, lately he hasn’t been too accurate. I’ll warn the flower scouter just to be sure.

  2. Gail said,

    January 26, 2009 at 8:03 pm

    Pretty pink rose…I miss spring. gail

    • Jan said,

      January 26, 2009 at 8:37 pm

      I do too, Gail. I think just about everybody is wanting warmer weather, fresh green leaves, and flowers.

  3. tina said,

    January 26, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    It is such a pretty shade of pink Jan.

    • Jan said,

      January 27, 2009 at 5:40 am

      Yes, Tina, it is a lovely shade, and when it grows next to the green of other plants, the combination is so spring-like even in January.

      Miranda, I agree that it is a delight to come across blooming plants when you least expect it.

  4. Miranda Bell said,

    January 27, 2009 at 2:59 am

    Isn’t it great to start to watch all the plants come to life again – I love it – every day holds a surprise.. Miranda

  5. Randy said,

    January 27, 2009 at 8:41 am

    Jan,
    how lucky you are to have such pretty blooms in your garden!

  6. Ann said,

    January 27, 2009 at 11:00 am

    Hi Jan.
    What a lovely rose. When my parents moved this past year from our family home I got a division of their ‘Prairie Princess’ that traveled from Kansas out east with us in 1974. It even bloomed bravely last summer – two blossoms. Hoping it survives the winter; I mulched it heavily this fall. Plants passed along from family members are very special. Wonderful posting. Thanks for sharing.
    Ann

  7. Racquel said,

    January 27, 2009 at 11:39 am

    What a lovely shade of pink on that rose Jan! I hope your weather stays nice and the other blooms come out to showoff their colors too. 🙂

  8. Sherry said,

    January 27, 2009 at 8:45 pm

    What a bright and pretty rose, Jan. I love that glowing shade of pink.

  9. Sherry said,

    January 27, 2009 at 8:47 pm

    What a bright and pretty rose, Jan. I love that glowing shade of pink. It sure does stand out from the greens and grays.

    • Jan said,

      January 28, 2009 at 5:47 pm

      Yes, Sherry, it does stand out on a gray day. When the canes are covered in blooms, it is a very spectacular sight.

  10. January 28, 2009 at 11:17 pm

    Oh, is it still gray there? What a welcome that pink would be? So warm to the eyes! Though we call this a dewy season, it goes up to a max of 81 deg. F in the afternoons, but it’d be strangely cold! I appreciate this weather though 🙂

    • Jan said,

      January 29, 2009 at 8:08 pm

      Chandramouli, we have been having many overcast and gray days. It seems cool fronts keep coming through with clouds and ocassionally some rain. We are in a transition period when it comes to temperatures. One day we can have highs of 78 to 82 degrees, and a few days later, we plunge into lows in the high 30’s. It is hard to know how to dress yourself or take care of plants.


Leave a Reply

