Herb Update

“Herb Update”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

A gift we received at Christmas time was the Aerogarden.  I am sure you have seen these on TV.  On January 6th, I wrote about how the seeds had sprouted, and the little seedlings seemed to be doing well.  I guess it is time for an update since the tiny little seedlings have grown a bit more.

The seeds were planted on December 30th and here is how some looked by January 6th.

  

Purple Basil
Purple Basil
 
 
Mint

Mint

 
Dill

Dill

 

As you can see, they were very tiny, and the dill was only one thin thread.  Here is how it looks today.

 
 
aerogarden-redu1
 
 
The last seeds to germinate was the cilantro.  It was supposed to come in 8 to 14 days, but it took almost three weeks.  So, this is how the Aerogarden is looking after four weeks.  As I wrote before, we have had to place this in the laundry room where it is a little on the cool side right now, so that may account for the plants not being any bigger.  They are coming along, though, especially the Italian basil, parsley, and mint.  So far, everything seems to be growing  fine, I’ll keep you updated on our hydroponic experiment.
15 Comments

  1. Patty said,

    January 30, 2009 at 9:35 pm

    They look great! They are nice and full. Usually when I start seeds they get leggy even with good light. That little machine looks like it is really doing a good job. Looks like you might be able to have a pasta sauce soon!

  2. tina said,

    January 30, 2009 at 10:29 pm

    Those are some happy looking herbs! I bet the gardener is too since she can easily touch the leaves and smell the wonderful smells of them.

  3. Jan said,

    January 31, 2009 at 6:28 am

    Yes, Patty, the herbs are doing well. We are just about ready to raise the light as the herbs have grown taller. I too have started seeds in the past that grew leggy, but not these guys. It is true that you need lights to grow seedlings.

    Tina, it is nice to be able to see, touch, and smell plants at any time of year, but right now it is really nice to be able to get my garden “fix” so easily.

  4. Charles said,

    January 31, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    Glad to see another update on your herb experiment. Will you be trying anything besides herbs?

  5. Debbie said,

    January 31, 2009 at 3:25 pm

    I was wondering if you were going to post again about your aerogarden. Looks like things are coming along nicely.

  6. Katarina said,

    January 31, 2009 at 4:16 pm

    This was most interesting – I’ve never seen an aergarden before – your herbs seem to like it a lot!
    Katarina (Roses and stuff)

  7. Miranda Bell said,

    January 31, 2009 at 5:16 pm

    Your plants look fabulous… nothing compared to the poor little parsley plant struggling with cold that I found today whilst digging the veg patch!

  8. Randy said,

    January 31, 2009 at 5:39 pm

    I was wondering how things were going! Everything looks nice and healthy! Keep us posted.

  9. Brenda Kula said,

    January 31, 2009 at 6:28 pm

    Seems to me back in the early eighties I grew a lot of sprouts. I was quite taken with them at the time. And there was this way of growing plants that we had with no soil. It was quite popular at the time. Keep us updated.
    Brenda

  10. January 31, 2009 at 10:07 pm

    Oh boy–you better get cooking. Those herbs will be huge in no time.

  11. Jon said,

    February 1, 2009 at 12:13 am

    Very interesting and very “cool” looking. Where have I been never seeing or hearing about Aerogardens? Of course, I don’t watch much TV and try to avoid commercials when I do so I guess that explains my ignorance. What is the growing media….looks like just perlite but I suppose it is some new high tech stuff. I’ll have to do a Google Search to check this new device out. From the looks of yours, it is working beautifully.

    Thanks for sharing this info and do keep us posted.

    Jon at Mississippi Garden

  12. andré said,

    February 1, 2009 at 6:10 am

    Hmm…. I haven’t seen them on TV (by obvious reasons)… what is it? It looks like a success. 🙂

  13. February 1, 2009 at 8:36 am

    Haha it works, it looks great. Different but very nice, an high-tech state-of-the-art herb garden! Tyra

  14. Jan said,

    February 2, 2009 at 6:20 pm

    Charles, there are some more packets, tomatoes, flowers, and salad greens. I guess we will be trying those next.

    Thanks, Debbie. the herbs seem to be coming along fine.

    Katerina, the areogarden has been advertised a lot over here. It is a unit with grow lights and a reservoir for water and nutrients. I am a little surprised how well the herbs are doing.

    Thanks, Miranda. I think having the grow lights is what is doing the trick.

    Randy, I’ll keep you updated every so often with how the areogarden is progressing.

    Brenda, now that you mention it, I seem to remember something like that, too. I do remember growing plants in a container with special rocks or something and water in the bottom of a container. I guess every thing old is new again.

    Anna, it won’t be long before I will be harvesting the herbs for cooking. I can hardly wait for the basil. It’s my favorite.

    Jon, the plants are growing in a sponge-like material that absorbs the water and nutrients. I’ve seen these areogardens in magazines and catalogs, too. I find them a little expensive, but since this was a gift, I’m not complaining.

    Andre, Iike I replied to Katerina, this is a self-contained unit. If you look on the January 2nd post, there is a picture of the unit.

    Tyra, you are right it does seem to be a high-tech way of growing plants.

  15. ja said,

    February 16, 2009 at 11:29 pm

    nice Aerogarden growing.


Leave a Reply

