February Muse Day.

“Muse Day”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

The first of the month is Garden Blogger’s Muse Day, day to post a poem relating to gardening.

Thanks to Sweet Home and Garden Chicago for starting Garden Bloggers’ Muse Day.

I’m a day late posting for Garden Bloggers’ Muse Day.  Some computer problems threw me off on the date, but better late than never.  While my oak tree is not as majestic as the one Whitman writes about, it is on its way to being one of the wonderful live oaks we have so many of here in Louisiana.

 

oak-tree-redu

 

I saw in Louisiana a Live Oak Growing

 

Walt Whitman

 

I saw in Louisiana a live-oak growing,
All alone it stood and the moss hung down from its branches,
Without any companion it grew there uttering joyous leaves of dark green,
And its look, rude, unbending, lusty, made me think of myself,
But I wonder’d how it could utter joyous leaves standing alone there without its friend near, for I knew I could not,
And I broke off a twig with a certain number of leaves upon it, and twined around it a little moss,
And brought it away, and I have placed it in sight in my room,
It is not needed to remind me as of my own dear friends,
(For I believe lately I think of little else than them,)
Yet it remains to me a curious token, it makes me think of manly love;

 

For all that, and though the live-oak glistens there in Louisiana solitary in a wide flat space,
Uttering joyous leaves all its life without a friend or lover near,
I know very well I could not.
 
10 Comments

  1. linnie said,

    February 2, 2009 at 8:06 am

    Lovely Jan, thank you for a beautiful start to the day.

    Linnie in Destrehan, LA 2/1/09

  2. Brenda Kula said,

    February 2, 2009 at 3:48 pm

    Oak trees, the epitome of strength.
    Brenda

  3. Racquel said,

    February 2, 2009 at 6:33 pm

    Better late than never Jan! A wonderful tribute to the mighty oak!

    • Jan said,

      February 2, 2009 at 6:40 pm

      Thanks, Racquel. I think that the live oak is just about my favorite tree even though it does not flower.

  4. Jan said,

    February 2, 2009 at 6:37 pm

    You’re welcome, Linnie. I wish I could have found a picture of George Rodriguez’s oak tree paintings. One of them would have gone so well with this poem.

    Brenda, oaks are a symbol of strength. After Hurricane Katrina, most of the oak trees withstood her strong winds.

  5. joey said,

    February 2, 2009 at 8:48 pm

    I love live-oaks and your photo is stunning, Jan; a lovely tribute to this majestic tree.

  6. fairegarden said,

    February 3, 2009 at 6:25 am

    Hi Jan, oh I love that poem. And the live oaks, just out of our range, are so majestic and magical. I love the thought of breaking a twig, twining the moss around it and gazing at it inside. Walt W. was a master of the written word.
    Frances

  7. carolyngail said,

    February 3, 2009 at 7:18 am

    Thanks for posting the Walt Whitman poem, one that I haven’t read before. I, too, have a moss-covered twig from the Live Oak that I took during a visit to Florida. No other tree symbolizes the South as much as the Live Oak and I’m so happy that they survived the devastation of Katrina.

  8. Anna said,

    February 4, 2009 at 4:05 pm

    Thanks for introducing me to a new Walt Whitman poem Jan 🙂

  9. Jan said,

    February 6, 2009 at 5:48 am

    Thanks for stopping by, Joey. I bet there are many people who would pick an oak as their favorite tree. Mine has grown since we moved in years ago, but I am just now starting to see how it will mature into a very shapely, large specimen.

    Frances, Walt Whitman is one of my favorite poets who led such an interesting life. I think of all the oaks, the live oak is the prettiest. It is a shame you can’t have one where you live. They are majestic.

    Carolyn, Whitman was such a prolific poet that I am still discovering poems by him that I have never read. This one has been a favorite of mine since high school. I think the idea of interdependence with friends very important, especially today when we often seem to be so isolated from other people even in large cities.

    Anna, I’m glad that you enjoyed the poem. As I noted to Carolyn, it is one of my favorites.


Leave a Reply

