A Hard Month

“A Hard Month”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

February can be the hardest month for gardeners.  Here, in the South, the weather is cold one day and warm the next.  Last night we had a hard freeze, and tomorrow it is supposed to be in the high 60’s, and by Saturday, we will be in the mid 70’s.  We never know what to expect.  In the north, by contrast, this year has been unusually cold and snowy.  I know those gardeners would love to have a day of our warm weather just to be out in their gardens.  One big help for us is that we all know that spring won’t be too far off now.  At least that is something we can all look forward to.

 

2008-106-shelias-rose-reduced-v3-011

8 Comments

  1. Patty said,

    February 5, 2009 at 10:40 pm

    You are sure right about wanting just a taste of Spring. It will be 8 degrees here tonight in VA and I sure wish I could go outside and see a rose like the one you have pictured. Oh well, just reading your blog helps me think of Spring. Thanks.

  2. February 5, 2009 at 10:54 pm

    The rose looks….. so rose! LOL! I mean I’ve never seen such color – a very light shade of pink! Don’t worry, as you said, Spring is soon coming and I was excited on seeing Dave (http://thehomegarden.blogspot.com/) planting his seeds on pellets!

  3. Jan said,

    February 6, 2009 at 5:34 am

    Wow! That’s cold, Patty. The way time seems to be flying by, it won’t be too long until even Northern Virginia has springtime. I can hardly believe it is February already. It seems like it was New Year’s just yesterday. I’m hoping warmer weather comes to stay real soon, too.

    Chandramouli, isn’t that a lovely rose? When a friend moved away, she gave me this rose bush. I am trying to find a place in my garden to plant it this year. Spring will be a good time to plant it.

  4. tina said,

    February 6, 2009 at 7:30 am

    I agree, won’t be long now.

  5. Brenda Kula said,

    February 6, 2009 at 9:24 am

    I go outside every few hours anxiously awaiting and watching for the sight of little shoots coming through the dirt, which soothes my spirit and lets me know spring is just around the proverbial corner.
    Brenda

  6. Tyra said,

    February 6, 2009 at 10:20 am

    Hi Jan, your snow flakes are gone! you took them away so it must be spring very soon! Gorgeous Rose and excellent photo, the light in the picture is so great.

    xoxo Tyra

  7. nefp said,

    February 6, 2009 at 2:03 pm

    Thanks for visiting my blog! It didn’t get as cold as forcasted last night. We did however get down to 25 degrees. The fog was crazy thick and just hung in the air I guess where it was so cold. As of right now none of my plants look any worst than they did. Our lowest has been 23 degrees, but this morning the frost was harder than it was at 23 degrees.

    Jake

    • Jan said,

      February 7, 2009 at 6:05 pm

      Yes, Tyra, the snow is gone and spring will be here before we know it. That rose was a gift from a neighbor who moved away and left me the rose. It is so pretty and blooms almost year round.

      Brenda, I am doing the same thing. I think I just want to be reassured that my plants have made it through another winter.

      Tina, it sure is hard to wait sometimes for spring to show. I keep remember the saying that there is often a big difference between the arrival of spring and the first day of spring.

      Jake, I am so glad that it did not get as cold as predicted. I am surprised by some of my tender plants that were not protected came through our latest freeze with no damage. Go figure.


Leave a Reply

