Mid-Winter Pick Me Up

“Mid-Winter Pick Me Up”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

As I have stated before, I don’t buy Amaryllis bulbs for Christmas blooms.  I wait and pot them up just before or just after Christmas so that they will bloom in mid-winter when a dash of color is really needed.  The last two weeks have been extremely deary days around here – clouds, rain, cold temperatures.  Down here in the Gulf Coast, we are used to warmer, sunnier days.

The Pink Diamond amaryllis I bought months ago and planted after Christmas already had a bloom stalk showing.  It quickly grew and displayed its buds which soon was showing a hint of color.  It wasn’t until last week that I could tell it was going to be pink.  (I have had several instances of a plant’s bloom not being what it was labeled.)  The recent cold weather slowed the opening of the buds to a crawl.  Finally, last night when I checked on the flowers, one flower was almost fully opened.  Today, it was open enough to show its true beauty.

pink-diamond-redu

This flower, with its gorgeous, dark pink blooms, certainly lifts my spirits.  I am glad I waited to plant these bulbs since they now give a much needed mid-winter pick me up.

Update:  I don’t think this amaryllis is Pink Diamond.  After looking at the label that came with it, there should be a white star in the center.  I have a feeling this is Pink Surprise instead.  I guess I may have to wait until it blooms again to be sure because sometimes the first flowers of a plant is not exactly like they will be when it is better established.  Either way, I like the color of this amaryllis and am not disappointed if it turns out to be something besides Pink Diamond.

12 Comments

  1. tina said,

    February 7, 2009 at 8:15 am

    It’s gorgeous Jan!

    • Jan said,

      February 7, 2009 at 6:03 pm

      Yes, Tina, this is a very pretty color; I am so pleased. I wanted to have more pink amaryllis in the garden and these will fit the bill just fine.

      Linnie, I did enjoy the sunshine (finally) and the warmer weather. I was able to cut down some wild privet and found the cool temperatures easier to deal with than the heat of summer. I sure hope we get more mild days like this.

      Ann, April or May! How do you survive that long without being able to garden? I can see why you need to force your bulbs later, too. I do it because Christmas time has so many decorations that the forced bulbs tend to get lost, but, by now, they are the center of attention. They also help bridge the gap between the winter flowers and the spring ones.

      Racquel, I think this shade will look lovely in my “pink” garden. I will be planting these out in the garden in April and look forward to their blooming in 2010.

  2. linnie said,

    February 7, 2009 at 9:44 am

    What a beautiful color. Excellent planning on your part.
    Since we live in roughly the same weather area I know we will both be enjoying today’s mild temperatures and opportunities for gardening.

    Linnie in Destrehan, LA 2/7/09

  3. Ann said,

    February 7, 2009 at 12:23 pm

    Lovely amaryllis. I save indoor forcing bulbs for starting after the holiday too. We won’t see any action up my way of anything coming back to life outdoors until late April or early May. Long time to wait for any color. I’ll have to keep an eye out for Pink Diamond for next year. A real beauty.

  4. Racquel said,

    February 7, 2009 at 4:51 pm

    Beautiful shade of deep pink!

  5. Brenda Kula said,

    February 7, 2009 at 6:10 pm

    I’m not schooled on this plant. But I have one planted in a pot outdoors from last year. And it hasn’t shown any growth. Just a short blob in a pot. Do you think it’s dead and I should pitch it? Should I have brought it inside? I should have read up on these.
    Brenda

    • Jan said,

      February 7, 2009 at 6:23 pm

      Brenda, it might not be dead. Don’t give up hope. I have one in a pot that was left out during the winter, and it is doing okay. Yours won’t start to show any leaves until it warms up. The ones I have in my garden are only showing tiny bits of green where the leaves are just starting to show. They won’t bloom until spring if you left it out all winter. They bloom at Christmas because they are forced, but they bloom naturally in the spring. You can plant it in your garden in April.

  6. nancybond said,

    February 7, 2009 at 9:05 pm

    Properly labelled or not, the colour is stunning! What a beautiful splash of Spring.

    • Jan said,

      February 8, 2009 at 4:37 am

      I agree, Nancy. I have found it hard to find pink toned amaryllises. There are plenty of red ones, but the more pastel are a little harder to find.

  7. Camellia said,

    February 8, 2009 at 5:32 am

    Jan, gorgeous amaryllis. Didn’t know they came in pink as well. I had two for xmas, but since the leaves are still large, fresh and healthy (although the actual flower has long gon), I didn’t want to dump it, and was wondering what to do with it. Now I know I can plant it out in April. Thanks for the tip!

  8. Jon said,

    February 8, 2009 at 11:42 am

    Jan,
    I was reminded of the movie and Forrest Gump’s comment about “Life is like a box of chocolates. You open it and never know what you’re going to find inside.” (Maybe not the exact words.) It can indeed be frustrating or sometimes a pleasant surprise when labels of bulbs and seeds are mismatched. Who knows who works in warehouses and packs them? However, looks like you lucked out with that lovely pink one which is a keeper for sure. Enjoy it!

    Jon at Mississippi Garden

  9. Jan said,

    February 8, 2009 at 7:35 pm

    Camellia, these bulbs are hardy to USDA zone 8, and it is a shame that so many people don’t know they can be planted in the garden. Around here just about everyone has them planted outside. Even if you live in an are where they are not hardy, you can keep them in containers, summer them outside, protect them through the winter, and they will bloom again in the spring. Having them bloom for Christmas requires a little more planning, but it isn’t hard to do.

    Jon, I did luck out with this pink bulb. I bought it only because I wanted a pink for the garden, so I am happy with it. I have had several experiences lately with mislabled plants that did not turn out as well.


Leave a Reply

