Not Perfect

“Not Perfect”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

For three weeks now, the forsythia has been blooming.  Because it has been blooming over such a long period of time, it has not put forth the full flush of blooms that it usually does.

 

forsythia-redu

 

The blooms seem a little skimpy, and because of this they don’t seem to be heralding a spring about to burst forth.  It is more like spring is just dragging in or doesn’t know if it should be showing up yet. 

This area in the coastal South is a little marginal for this plant in respect to its blooming.   There have been some years when, because of warm winters, there have been no flowers at all.  This year the flowering would have looked so much better if the blooms would have all shown up at once.  Since the leaves are already coming out, that means no more flowers will be emerging.  So, unfortunately, this is as much of a spring showing from this plant as we’ll get.

It is a little disappointing when a plant that only blooms once a year doesn’t live up to its potential, but with all the other spring-flowering shrubs around that are already in bloom or in bud, I really can’t complain.  This is just a reminder that every now and then things are just not perfect, and we need to be able to accept that.

11 Comments

  1. tina said,

    February 10, 2009 at 8:51 pm

    So very true. I think it most pretty-love the yellow. I was just noticing my one forsythia has yellow showing. I could not believe it! I thought I had killed it when I moved it last November. They are hardy little fellows. Glad yours are blooming.

    • Jan said,

      February 10, 2009 at 8:58 pm

      Tina, I am so glad yours is starting to bloom and didn’t die. These shrubs are pretty tough in my experience.

  2. February 10, 2009 at 9:52 pm

    I’m disappointed when they don’t bloom so profusely. Forsythia is a heralding of Spring. It blooms at the same time our dogwoods and Red Buds bloom—sometimes–all at once and glorious. I don’t know what to expect from this Spring since we’ve had a good amount of rain all winter after the drought the past few years. I wonder what will happen.

    • Jan said,

      February 11, 2009 at 5:24 am

      Anna, forsythia can be wonderful when in full bloom. For us, it usually blooms first before anything else. Since we have been having three cloudy and rainy days with more to come, that bright yellow really lifts the spirits.

      Tyra, spring definitely is in the air around here. With temperatures in the high 70’s again today, I am sure more and more plants will be waking up. I am so glad.

  3. February 11, 2009 at 1:16 am

    Hi Jan, Here it is I think together with Syringa vulgaris the most common bush in our gardens. It is pretty isn’t it and it is so great to see yours in bloom….spring is in the air.

    xoxo Tyra

  4. February 11, 2009 at 7:21 am

    Believe me, Jan, your forsythia is a sight for winter-weary eyes like mine. I’ll gladly take it, scanty bloom and all.

  5. February 11, 2009 at 12:57 pm

    Hi Jan,
    It does look a bit sad, but at least the blooms popped out, even if on their own and not all together. Forsythia can be so pretty but I agree it looks a bit stifled! Poor thing. Perhaps it’ll have a better experience next year.

  6. Brenda Kula said,

    February 11, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    Nothing is as perfect, or as imperfect, as nature.
    Brenda

  7. Tessa said,

    February 11, 2009 at 4:12 pm

    This is one plant that I have wanted for a while now. I would love to have some branches to bring indoors for some early bloom. I’m glad that yours didn’t die!

  8. February 21, 2009 at 11:25 am

    I love to see the forsythia blooms, they look so awesome and remind me that it’s probably to hit the forest in search of morel mushrooms.

    • Jan said,

      February 21, 2009 at 5:22 pm

      I know my forsythia really brightens up a gray late winter day.


Leave a Reply

