Red Robin

“Red Robin”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

I haven’t seen any of our American robins yet this year.  They usually start showing up here in the coastal South around the end of February.  I thought that maybe with the warmer temperatures we have been having lately, they would arrive a little earlier than normal the way spring seems to be here so early.  But, so far, no robin redbreasts are to be seen.

There is, however, one red robin that seems to be putting out fresh, new leaves to mark the beginning of spring.  I am referring to the rex begonia, Harmony’s Red Robin.

 

red-robin-redu2

 

It has such rich, deep colors.   With its black center, brilliant red bands, dark border and iridescent quality,  this begonia is a real standout.  With Valentine’s Day fast approaching, isn’t this a perfectly colored plant for that special day?

11 Comments

  1. Janet said,

    February 11, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    That is so pretty. The Rex Begonias piqued my interest last year…I love foliage interest.
    Janet

  2. Melanthia said,

    February 11, 2009 at 9:43 pm

    Now that’s a cool plant. Oh, and I just wrote about the American Robin on Tuesday. Tons of them were visiting our front yard. The first this year that I’ve spotted. Sweet little birds and a welcome sight on that cloudy, snowy day.

  3. tina said,

    February 11, 2009 at 10:09 pm

    Yes it is. Great variegation on the foliage. The begonias are so fun.

  4. February 11, 2009 at 10:21 pm

    What an amazing foliage! Great photo, Jan!

  5. kerri said,

    February 11, 2009 at 10:29 pm

    Oh, how I’d love to grow that one! It’s a real beauty. My passion for begonias is growing steadily. The Rieger I featured in January’s Bloom Day post is still sporting those same lovely blooms. They last for ages! And my Star Begonia is blooming! These are the first blooms I’ve seen as it’s a fairly new plant.
    Your Red Robin is perfect for Valentine’s Day 🙂

  6. February 12, 2009 at 1:30 am

    Beautiful, I have to look it up and read more about it. I love the colors./ Tyra

  7. Jan said,

    February 12, 2009 at 5:39 am

    Janet, I only started collecting rex begonias about two years ago. They have really captured my heart. I don’t know if I could pick just one as a favorite.

    Melanthia, I am looking forward to the robins showing up down here. They are such a wonderful springtime symbol. We usually have several that stay the entire summer here.

    Tina, the variation of rex begonias that growers have developed over the years is amazing. I just can’t seem to resist adding more.

    Chandramouli, thanks. It can be difficult to capture the iridescent quality of the leaves which is one thing I love about the foliage of these begonias.

    Kerri, these plants can become an addiction, can’t they. I can hardly resist adding more and more whenever I see a new one. I like the fact that they give so much color without flowers.

    Tyra, Harmony’s Red Robin is a fairly common begonia now. You shouldn’t have any problems finding information about it. There are several others with this striking color combination, but this one is my favorite.

  8. February 12, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    I love these beautiful leaves;) Must keep my open for this begonia-if Janet can grow it, I probably can too:)

  9. nancybond said,

    February 12, 2009 at 1:52 pm

    Wow! That colour is spectacular! I’ve never seen one like it. As you said, perfect for Valentine’s. 🙂

  10. Brenda Kula said,

    February 12, 2009 at 7:39 pm

    That…is…gorgeous! I love those bold colors!
    Brenda

  11. andré said,

    February 13, 2009 at 5:27 am

    That looks really beautiful! 🙂 Have a nice weekend.


Leave a Reply

