Blue Skies

“Blue Skies”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Today, was a bright, sunny day.  The first one in what seems like a long time.  Gray, damp, deary days is what makes our shortest month seem like the longest, and it was so nice to see this today.  This bright blue sky gives a new meaning to the term “Blue Monday”.  This is one I’ll be willing to have more of any week.

 

sky-with-pine-redu

 

Why do so many weekends turn out to be cloudy and/or rainy and weekdays (workdays) turn out so nice?  Anyway, with the sun coming out it made everything cheerful, and that reminded me of the violas.  They are such happy-looking, little flowers.  With the warmer weather we have been having, they have really started putting out the blooms.  The yellow are in the circle garden, and the bright color really makes them stand out.  Covered in dew from all the moisture left over from this weekend’s rain, this only made them seem prettier.  I am hoping that in the next few weeks they start spreading even more.  Because of the rain, I have not been able to fertilize them lately which is important because they are such heavy feeders.  As soon as things dry out a little, I will be fertilizing them to ensure more blooms.

 

yellow-violas-redu

 

This next viola was a surprise.  I planted a flat of pruple violas, and several turned out to be this orange and purple.  At first I was annoyed, but later on I decided that they looked so cute that they could stay where they were.  I am not sorry.  These, too, have a very cheerful look about them which is so important during the long, dreary month of February.

 

orange-purple-viola-redu

 

It is amazing what a few hours of bright, blue skies can do for your mood.  Everything looks so cheerful today even though it was a workday.

10 Comments

  1. tina said,

    February 16, 2009 at 8:12 pm

    Your sky picture is truly a happy sight. As are those violas. Love that mult colored one.

  2. February 16, 2009 at 11:50 pm

    Ah! Those yellow blooms look like butterflies fluttering around. Great photo. BTW, would you mind if that orange butterfly with violet tinge hovers over my garden for sometime? 😉

  3. Tessa said,

    February 17, 2009 at 12:28 am

    Oh, I’m so glad you had nice weather! Yes, a little blue sky makes all the difference. I hope you are in store for more great weather 🙂

  4. Racquel said,

    February 17, 2009 at 9:03 am

    Beautiful sky picture today Jan! I agree that clear skies and sunshine do wonder for the spirit at this time of the year. That last shot of the purple & orange viola is pretty. What a nice color combo!

  5. Melanthia said,

    February 17, 2009 at 1:30 pm

    We had those blue skies yesterday, too. So wonderful to spend all day outside. I really like your bi-colored viola, very sweet.

  6. donna said,

    February 17, 2009 at 4:30 pm

    Jan, thank you so much for making me feel welcome on my first GBBD. Your blue sky makes me feel happy all the way here in WI. Can’t say that I’ve ever seen orange/purple violas before, but like how they look in your photo. Sorry about the duplicate comment. I’m so new to blogging that I can’t even remember my URI.

  7. Brenda Kula said,

    February 17, 2009 at 5:12 pm

    I like the orange and purple. Rather striking. I have not once fed my pansies this year, I don’t think. And need to. Thanks for the reminder! Your skies with the pine tree looks so much like my yard.
    Brenda

  8. February 17, 2009 at 5:14 pm

    Beautiful blue sky picture – you are so right – blue sky makes everything so much happier.
    K

  9. Jon said,

    February 18, 2009 at 1:23 am

    Nice shots, Jan. You are so right about sunny days and blue skies to lift up one’s spirits. It must be one of Murphy’s Laws about rainy weekends and pretty workdays….that use to bug me when I was trapped in an office M-F.

    Jon at Mississippi Garden

  10. Jan said,

    February 18, 2009 at 4:43 am

    Tina, that blue sky surely was welcome after the gray days we have been having this month. The violas have really done well this year. I usually plant pansies, but not this year. I think I’ll stick with the violas.

    Chandramouli, I’ll be sure to send it over to visit. These little flowers sure do pack a punch when massed. I am very happy with them this year. They seem to be blooming better than ever.

    Tessa, there is rain and clouds for Wednesday, but after that we should have at least five good days. Yippee!

    Racquel, yes, bright days do lift the spirits. That orange/purple viola is a cutie, and to think I almost ripped it out. It just shows that sometimes we have to be open to the serendipitous.

    Melanthia, isn’t it wonderful when we have those sunny, gorgeous early sprind days?

    Donna, I’m sure it won’t be too long before even Wisconsin has the same bright, blue days. Thanks for stopping by.

    Brenda, you have shown many photos that remind me of my area, too. I love living under the pine trees. When I plant my violas, I always add a little osmocote and blood meal which lasts them for months, but now they really need that biweekly feeding. That is one of the reasons I am hoping for dry weather.

    K, it is amazing how just a few sunny days makes everything seem more optimistic.

    Jon, I am glad to see I am not the only one who gets frustrated by rainy weekends. I also notice that it often rains on Fridays, too, which makes it impossible to work in a garden on Saturday even if there is no rain that day. What is that saying about the gods laughing at man’s plans?


Leave a Reply

