Three Indicators

“Three Indicators”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Today’s garden yielded more signs of an extra early spring.  The climbing rose bush has several open flowers and many buds which, barring any freezing weather (which looks unlikely now), should be opening very soon.  This is the climber that my mother rooted for me years ago and always has a ton of small pink flowers.  Right now the flowers are a lighter pink than normal, but I am expecting that the others will open the normal medium pink.

 

climbing-rose-redu

 

All of the holly ferns have started putting out new fronds.  I love the bright, spring green of the new ones.  The contrast of the dark green and new green is very nice at this time of year.  I guess it won’t be long now before I will have to start cutting off the older fronds.

 

holly-fern-fronds-redu

 

Last, but not least, the amaryllis bulbs are starting to put out their buds.  These are the red ones with a white center.  These buds are the earliest and the tallest.  I am a little surprised that they are up so high already.  The solid reds ones are just starting to show; the solid whites ones are barely showing; Elvas is just starting to peep out; but Appleblossom still isn’t showing any buds.  From the looks of things, there should be several weeks of successive blooms from the amaryllis bulbs.  This will be the first year that they will bloom like that.  I can’t wait to see how they all turn out.

 

amaryllis-bud-redu

 

These three plants certainly seem to be indicating that winter is over.

14 Comments

  1. February 18, 2009 at 9:04 pm

    You are so far ahead of us. I hope you don’t get a cold snap at the last minute. That happens here in NC. Your rose is very pretty and so nice that it came from your mom.

  2. Racquel said,

    February 18, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    I would say so Jan, spring has come to your garden!

  3. Tessa said,

    February 18, 2009 at 9:41 pm

    Jan, that rose is a beautiful sight this time of year! Oooo! I can’t wait for spring!

  4. tina said,

    February 18, 2009 at 10:09 pm

    Your holly fern looks just so good. Mine is pretty brown, not sure if it will come back but I hope so. And your amarylis on the soil? Pretty neat.

  5. February 18, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    New leaf growth…. love the various shades of green and violets and blacks! Have fun this Spring!

  6. Melanthia said,

    February 19, 2009 at 1:08 am

    Thank goodness! I don’t think I can take anymore.

  7. Jon said,

    February 19, 2009 at 1:50 am

    Jan,
    Aren’t these early signs of spring wonderful?! As the lyric in that kind of silly song by “The Tractors” goes…..and makes me want to sing with them: “I like it! I love it! I want some more of it!”

    Nice shots you posted here.

    Jon at Mississippi Garden

  8. Jan said,

    February 19, 2009 at 5:35 am

    Anna, I’m keeping an eye on the weather, but I don’t think we will have any more cold, unless it would be a freak incident. We are now too close to our average late freeze date.

    Racquel, yes, spring looks like its here, and I am so glad.

    Tessa, I think what makes that rose such a welcomed sight is its promise of many more showing up.

    Tina, holly ferns are pretty hardy, so I hope yours is okay. Yes, we can grow amaryllis in the ground here. I plant out the forced bulbs in April, and they do very well in the garden.

    Chandramouli, I’ll be off of work for five days starting this Saturday, and I intend to have a lot of “fun” in the garden.

    Melanthia, I don’t know how gardeners in more northern latitudes make it through such a long winter. I have trouble, and I live in an area with mild, short winters. I think I know why it is called “spring fever”.

    Jon, that song is perfect for how I feel about spring coming. I probably will have that chorus in my head all day.

  9. Randy said,

    February 19, 2009 at 6:54 am

    It certainly does look like spring is on its way for you, Jan. It’s suppose to be 26° here tonight.

    • Jan said,

      February 19, 2009 at 4:06 pm

      Gee, Randy, 26 is a hard freeze for us. Tonight is supposed to be about 36 for us, here, which isn’t too cold. The cold temps also will probably only last a short time and then start warming up.

      Donna, remembering the generous people who gave me so many plants is one of the nicest things about my garden. I know how hard it must be when you want flowers and greenery, but the weather just isn’t cooperating.

      Gail, I am sure that red rose will be blooming before you know it. I was noticing how many blogs had melting snow; that has to be very encouraging.

  10. donna said,

    February 19, 2009 at 7:05 am

    My roses are still covered with a couple feet of snow, so it’s nice to be able to enjoy looking at yours. How great that the rose is from your mom. I, too, like sharing plants. It’s fun to walk around the yard and remember all the people who were so kind in sharing their plants. I’m trying not to be jealous of all your blooms. Enjoy!

  11. Gail said,

    February 19, 2009 at 7:28 am

    I enjoyed your signs of spring…especially the rose…that has to mean spring! The true signs aren’t here yet! Sure we have a daf or two but winter isn’t finished with us! A few weeks ago I planted Red Cascade rose…am I ever excited about it. have a delicious day!

    gail

  12. Brenda Kula said,

    February 21, 2009 at 4:20 pm

    Holly Ferns! That’s what I’ve got growing out there that I cut down and they sprang right back up! I’ve been trying to think of their name for two weeks. Thanks!
    Brenda

    • Jan said,

      February 21, 2009 at 5:22 pm

      Glad you found out the name, Brenda. The same thing happens to me. My sister gave me a plant, and I am constantly having to ask her the name. I don’t know why I don’t write the name down.


Leave a Reply

