Another Surprise

 “Another Surprise”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

I was surprised to find a freesia blooming in the garden today.   This plant is at least six years old and returns every year.  I love the scent of freesias which reminds me of apricots.

 

freesia-redu

 

I walked around the garden on Tuesday and didn’t notice this new flower which surprises me.  I can’t believe  I missed this or that this flower went from small bud to flower is such a short time.  Either way, it is nice to have.

 

 

11 Comments

  1. Samantha Penney said,

    February 19, 2009 at 8:51 pm

    I am getting worried because mine arent blooming yet! They have a bunch of leaves, but no blooms. Do you have any advice? most of the pots are in a sunny window, but one of them is outside getting afternoon sun. maybe they need more sun? What do you think

  2. Tessa said,

    February 19, 2009 at 11:12 pm

    Beautiful! I love Freesias too, they last quite a while in bouquets for the house or friends too.

  3. February 20, 2009 at 12:37 am

    Oh, what a treat for my eyes filled with snow pictures now! and it keeps snowing.
    I’d love to have freesia in the garden, but it needs to be dug out every autumn, otherwise it would not survive our winter.

  4. February 20, 2009 at 1:25 am

    Wow! For the past two months your garden is full of surprises! Well, enjoy them!

  5. fairegarden said,

    February 20, 2009 at 9:58 am

    Hi Jan, it is hard to believe you would have missed such a sight. Could it have grown that quickly? I love freesias too, we had some white ones in Houston and filled the whole, small, backyard with fragrance. Hooray for your rose too. Amaryllis in the ground is great.
    Frances

  6. Tyra said,

    February 20, 2009 at 10:33 am

    Beautiful Jan, it is so amazing to see freesia blooming outdoors. How very lovely and in the color of spring.

    Tyra

  7. donna said,

    February 20, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    It’s amazing how quickly some warm sunshine can change a bud into a bloom. I look forward to seeing all the colors in your garden. Need I remind you of how lucky you are to have a long growing season? Don’t worry about me sitting here in the snow.

  8. linda said,

    February 20, 2009 at 2:51 pm

    What beautiful signs of spring you’re discovering Jan! It will still be awhile before we see many signs of spring here. In the meantime it’s grand seeing signs of spring gradually spreading towards our direction.

  9. February 20, 2009 at 9:57 pm

    Thanks for the freesia photo–I saw mine budding out and then I had to leave on a work trip to totally untropical Chicago. I hope there are some freesias left!

  10. Jan said,

    February 21, 2009 at 5:18 am

    Samantha, I think that the flowers are formed inside the bulbs the previous year, so there is nothing you can do now. If you just have foliage, it might be a little early for the flowers to show up. If you are going to try and keep them for next year, I would make sure they get a lot of sun so that they will form a flower. I hope this helps. Let me know if they flower later on this spring.

    Tessa, I never thought of using these as cut flowers. That would be a good thing to do. Thanks for the idea.

    Ewa, when I read about all of the plants that overwinter for us that don’t for gardeners in more northern latitudes, I marvel at the determination of those gardeners who faithfully dig up, store, and replant those things.

    Chandramouli, I am certainly enjoying the garden more and more since plants like the freesia are showing up.

    Francis, I guess I did miss it, or the flower was still in bud stage. I can’t believe I would miss such a bright gold flower. Most of the amaryllis bulbs are showing their buds now. It won’t be long before there are flowers.

    Tyra, I guess I didn’t realize that freesias can not be grown outside in all climates. I certainly love mine that come back year after year.

  11. Jan said,

    February 21, 2009 at 5:22 am

    Donna, I do realize how lucky I am to live in such a mild climate that I can garden just about year round and without having to dig up plants in the fall to store overwinter. There are a few plants I would love to grow here, but our heat would be too much for them, so I guess things do even out.

    Linda, I feel the same way when autumn reaches you first. I realize cooler weather will be here for us soon. Enjoy my garden until yours wakes up.

    Lost, I am sure that your freesias will still be blooming when you get back. They are a nice sign of spring, aren’t they?


Leave a Reply

