Something New Every Day

“Something New Every Day”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

It has been said that there is a world of difference between the first day of spring and the first spring day.  While official spring is several weeks away, we have been having spring-like weather for several days, and I think this is just the beginning of warmer weather.  One of the nice things about the beginning of spring is that there always seems to be something new every day to reinforce the fact that warmer days are here and that the cycle of the seasons is starting anew.

Today, I noticed that the quince has put out a few lovely pink flowers.  This was one of the first shrubs we put in when we first moved into our home.  It has gradually gottern shadier where this shrub is, so we don’t have as many blooms as we once did, but we are considering cutting back some plants so that this lovely shrub will produce more flowers.

 

quince-redu

 

 

The first of the Tete-a-Tete daffodils has opened.  Since so many other plants have bloomed early, I am a little surprised that these daffodils are only opening now.  Usually they are among the first flowers to show up in spring.

 

tete-a-tete-daf-redu

 

The white violets are starting to show up, too.  My neighbor across the street has these in the empty lot next door, and when they all are in bloom, it looks like there is snow on the ground.  However, they are so sweet and pretty that even if only one is around, it stands out.

 

 

 

white-violet-redu

 

Another early spring bloomer showing up now is the vinca.  This is the first bud of the year, and this flower really brightens up the area under the magnolia tree where it is planted.

 

 

vinca-bud-redu

 

Flowers are not the only thing showing up now.  The deciduious trees are starting to leaf out.  This is the first leaves of the River Birch just showing up today.

 

 

river-birch-leaf-redu

 

You can see that this wild cherry tree’s leaves have been out for several days.  It is amazing how fast these leaves will grow, and soon the whole tree will be covered with full size leaves before too very long.

 

 

wild-cherry-leaves-redu

 

 

When there is something new just about every day in the garden, it is no wonder that everyone looks forward to springtime.

20 Comments

  1. nancybond said,

    February 23, 2009 at 9:31 pm

    Wow, you’re so far ahead of us here, Jan. Your blooms you’ve shown us are all wonderful signs of spring — no matter the calendar date — but I especially love those sunny daffodils.

    • Jan said,

      February 24, 2009 at 6:05 am

      Nancy, the differences between gardening zones seems especially big this year. It has been a real long winter for all of us. The little daffodils are nice, aren’t they. These come back every year for us much better than any other ones.

      Catherine, it seems that the expression “spring is bursting out all over” is particularly true this year. You can see the difference in plant size daily.

      Melanthia, River Birch is a wonderful tree. The bark is everything you say. We had a large one that was taken down by Hurricane Katrina, and we were heart broken. We planted two more almost immediately because we love this graceful tree, and it adds so much to the landscape.

      Chandramouli, aren’t those tiny leaves something. I love the color, that bright, fresh, spring green.

      Kylee, enjoy my photos now and the real thing in your garden later. That way it is almost like extending spring even longer. I can’t wait to see the spring flowers in more northern gardens in the weeks to come. After the winter we have all had, it seems like we can’t get enough of fresh, spring bloomers.

  2. Catherine said,

    February 23, 2009 at 10:05 pm

    Isn’t it true how everyday there is something new to see! I’ve been noticing that almost overnight plants have been growing!

  3. Melanthia said,

    February 23, 2009 at 11:15 pm

    Isn’t it wonderful to have all these sweet little flowers appears. Of course, I’m still waiting for my daffodils … Lucky you to have River Birch, too. I saw it used at the NW Flower & Garden Show. It’s peeling bark was fabulous.

  4. February 24, 2009 at 12:24 am

    The most exciting thing about the coming of spring is the sprouting of baby leaves – I love those tiny, tender leaves!

  5. February 24, 2009 at 1:20 am

    Oh my goodness, I’m so envious! We’re still at least a month away from this here in my little corner of the world. It’s fun looking at yours though!

  6. February 24, 2009 at 6:54 am

    Lovely to see all your springflowers. I envy your daily walks in the garden. It was certainly very nice to come along on the tour today Jan.

    Tyra

    • Jan said,

      February 24, 2009 at 7:47 am

      Tyra, it has been sooo nice to be able to be outside in the garden. The last six days have been sunny and mild which has allowed us to work out in the yard raking, spreading compost, and mulching plants. Enjoy my flowers until yours show up.

      Frances, it is fun to go outside and look for new spring growth even though spring is not officially here yet. Everyday there seems to be something. I am waiting for more flowers which should be coming soon now that we have had so many milder, sunnier days.

      Randy, it seems like we are about three weeks ahead of you. We have had cool mornings, 39 degrees this morning, but the afternoons have been warming up to the low 60’s. I am sure it won’t be too much longer before I’ll be seeing pictures of your spring garden on your blog, too.

  7. fairegarden said,

    February 24, 2009 at 7:05 am

    Hi Jan, I love that, first spring like day versus first day of spring! So true here also. We are waiting patiently, what other kind of waiting should we do?, for the quince to open. The color is perfect with the yellow daffs and the blooms last for months. I will have to check the birches and wild cherries also, thanks for the inspiration! Hooray for warmer weather!
    Frances

  8. Randy said,

    February 24, 2009 at 7:20 am

    Jan,
    It was 28° here again last night! I’ll be glad when we catch up with you guys!

  9. Robin said,

    February 24, 2009 at 9:43 am

    I’m so ready for my garden to wake from hibernation! Seeing spring happening in your garden is getting me so excited! I know it won’t be too long for me too!

  10. Dawn said,

    February 24, 2009 at 10:18 am

    How pretty! I can’t wait!

  11. Phillip said,

    February 24, 2009 at 10:43 am

    We had a few warm days but it has been cold for the past week or so. Your budding plants certainly makes one eager for spring!

  12. tina said,

    February 24, 2009 at 11:43 am

    I’d say spring has arrived! it is weird about the Tete-e-tetes.

  13. Brenda Kula said,

    February 24, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    Oh, how I love walking out there each morning and discovering something new has sprouted or bloomed!
    Brenda

  14. RobinL said,

    February 24, 2009 at 8:55 pm

    Oh daffodils, my favorite! I can’t wait for mine to come up. I think I need to buy a bouquet of them from the florist to carry me through till their arrival in about two months. Too long!

  15. Jan said,

    February 25, 2009 at 3:44 am

    Robin, I sure hope that you can get out in your garden soon. I really have enjoyed the last six days here and just being able to be outside in nice, sunny weather.

    Dawn, thanks. Things are looking pretty good, and I can’t wait till everything is blooming. I am trying hard to enjoy the present and not focus too much on what the garden will look like in future weeks.

    Phillip, we have had a few cold nights, but nothing close to freezing. That has slowed the opening of some flowers, but that is all. I am just so glad to have sunny days after such a gloomy January and early February.

    Tina, I thought I might not get any Tete-e-Tete blooms this year since nothing was showing up, but they proved me wrong. I figured because the air temperature warmed up, many plants started blooming, but if the soil was still cold, maybe that’s why the bulbs just started blooming. Who knows.

    Brenda, things certainly seem to be showing up new every day here in the South. I saw where you all in Texas have been having some really warm days and that weather is coming here. I guess that means more plants will start blooming.

    RobinL, two months! I still find it hard to imagine how long winter can stay around farther north. By the time you are getting your daffodils, we will be ripping out the cool season annuals and already planting the warm season ones.

  16. February 25, 2009 at 10:11 am

    Your pics are lovely! I really need to get out there and look around for signs of life in my garden- it’s so encouraging!

    • Jan said,

      February 25, 2009 at 6:52 pm

      Tessa, I bet there is something that is showing life in your garden. I almost missed the tiny new leaves just sprouting on the trees.

      Jean, every day we see more and more signs of spring. Today, I noticed the peach trees had buds that were showing color.

  17. Jean said,

    February 25, 2009 at 11:31 am

    My daffodils are also a little slow to bloom this year. I do believe spring is here though. Our trees aren’t as far along as yours are but we drove through Texas last weekend, the trees were showing that early spring green. Yay!


Leave a Reply

