Look Who Showed Up

“Look Who Showed Up”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

There has been warmer weather, spring flowers blooming, and now, a  sure sign winter is over, little creatures showing up.  I noticed this cute little tree frog sitting in an amaryllis’s foliage the other day.   We do not see these little guys in the winter.  In fact, I almost missed seeing him because he blended in so well with the green foliage.

 

tree-frog-redu

 

Tree frogs are native to the southeastern U.S. and spend most of their life clinging to plants (and sometimes windows) using pads at the end of their toes.  Last summer saw an increase in their population around here, and I am glad to see that they evidently survived the winter.

 

Another sign that showed winter must be over is the appearance of the baby daddy long legs or harvestmen.  These insects do not survive the winter, so when the babies show up, it is a good sign that winter’s grip is over since the eggs won’t hatch until spring.  They are not spiders but are in the Archnida class.  They molt approximately every ten days and look very different at each stage.

 

dllegs-i

 

ddlegs-nymph-redu

 

It certainly can be interesting when Mother Nature wakes up her little creatures as spring approaches.

13 Comments

  1. Gail said,

    February 28, 2009 at 8:42 am

    Love the frog and hope we have them in the garden this year…It gets too dry in the summers, but I want to make a wet area for toads etc! Fascianting about ther DaddyLLs… gail

    • Jan said,

      February 28, 2009 at 1:20 pm

      Gail, it would be great if you could find an area to keep wet for the amphibians. I love seeing them in my garden. I wasn’t aware until I did a little research that the Daddy Long Legs weren’t all over, basically just in the south. When my daughter was very small, she was terrified of them. She said it was the long spindly legs.

      Jodi, I know you are eagerly anticipating the little creatures at your home waking up. Hopefully it will be soon, though I just saw the weather forecast that is bringing more snow and cold weather to many parts of the Northern Hemisphere.

      Brenda, with your water feature, you may attract some more amphibians. I am sure your toad is still around and will be showing up soon.

      Tina, the Daddy Long Legs, as we call the Harvestmen, are neat. If attacked, they can lose a leg and still get around on the other seven. I love it when we hear the crickets, though that means summer.

  2. February 28, 2009 at 9:12 am

    It’s so good to see living creatures waking up, yawning and stretching and preparing for spring. We’re still a long way from that but we know it’ll happen eventually. The photo of the frog is totally made of win.

  3. Brenda Kula said,

    February 28, 2009 at 9:31 am

    Oh, I don’t think I’ve ever seen that tiny frog in my yard! Maybe he was so tiny I missed him. I had a toad last summer. I wish I could attract more frogs, and finally a turtle (which I don’t think I’ve seen anywhere around here) would be nice. Love those little critters that come to the gardens!
    Brenda

  4. tina said,

    February 28, 2009 at 10:22 am

    Those harvestmen are so cool. I’ve never seen them before. Here I know spring is here when I hear the peepers. They started peeping two nights ago. Yeah!

  5. Racquel said,

    February 28, 2009 at 1:40 pm

    He does blend in perfectly with that foliage. What a cute little critter! Good signs of spring in your garden.

  6. donna said,

    February 28, 2009 at 2:04 pm

    My grandson has a fascination with frogs and spiders and all other creatures. Boy, wouldn’t he have fun exploring in your yard today. We’re STILL knee-deep in snow and cold temps, but lots of sun!

  7. donna said,

    February 28, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    Forgot to add….about your daddy long legs. We have them here in WI also. When one makes its way into the house, I very gently pick it up and put it back outside.

  8. Jon said,

    February 28, 2009 at 9:09 pm

    All sorts of frogs in my yard have awakened also. Last week’s warm evenings had them cheeping and croaking for rain. I love these spring signs, but we are expecting snow flurries tonight here in Vicksburg! What crazy mixed up weather patterns we have been having in recent years. Who knows what’s next? I hope no ice storms or hard freezes hit.

    Jon at Mississippi Garden

  9. Melanthia said,

    March 1, 2009 at 12:32 am

    Your frog looks like an emerging leaf. Amazing. OK, the Baby DLL are cool, but I still shudder seeing them!

  10. Jean said,

    March 1, 2009 at 11:14 am

    Love that frog! I’ve also noticed the insects waking up. Found two big grasshoppers already! I hope that’s not a sign of bad things to come as it seems pretty early for grasshoppers.

    • Jan said,

      March 1, 2009 at 2:51 pm

      Oh, don’t mention grasshoppers, Jean. I had a real problem last year, and it does seem like that is early for them to be showing up already large.

  11. andré said,

    March 2, 2009 at 7:56 am

    That’s a funny picture of the frog! 🙂


Leave a Reply

