Just Peachy

“Just Peachy”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

peach-blossom-redu

 

In other areas of the South there is very cold weather.   Yesterday there was snow in Mississippi, Alabama, and Georgia, and it soon moved into the Upper South and beyond.  Here in the Coastal South, we had some cold, windy weather with temps almost reaching freezing last night. 

Today, the peach trees in the back garden started opening a few of their flowers with the promise of more to come.  It seems Mother Nature is not going to be deterred from bringing forth spring even though Old Man Winter is trying so hard to keep a strong grip on the weather.

13 Comments

  1. March 2, 2009 at 5:59 pm

    Mother Nature kind of took a diversion on her journey into spring…but she’s getting right back on track and in a few days the temps will be back in the ’50s here. I am not going to be too happy with her if she does that again, though!

    • Jan said,

      March 3, 2009 at 5:47 am

      Jan, this last cold spell has been unusual, but not unheard of, for us at this time of year. I’ll be glad when we start staying in the 60’s all day.

      Gail, yes, that is a peach blossom. We planted peach trees to replace some trees that Hurricane Katrina blew over. Last year we got several delicious peaches from them and are hoping for a lot more this year.

      Tina, I think Mother Nature is trying to get Old Man Winter in line and is having a little difficulty getting him to move on.

      Janet, that’s okay. I’ll probably use that line when the peaches are ripe.

      Brenda, the peach trees have such pretty flowers that I am sorry we didn’t put some in sooner. It is a lovely shape and color, isn’t it?

      Racquel, I hope this photo does brighten your day. We have green grass already, and you all have snow still.

      Tessa, it is just a lovely flower. I may have to get that photo framed for the wall. It would be a pretty picture, wouldn’t it?

      Melanthia, thanks. I am waiting for our Kwansan Cherry to bloom. I love the pretty, fluffy, pink flowers. While fall is my favorite season, I think I look forward the most to spring.

  2. Gail said,

    March 2, 2009 at 6:20 pm

    What a grip he has…can we pry his fingers lose! Wonderful news that the blooming peach trees did not get frosted…I love the flower you’ve shown us! Is that a peach blossom? gail

  3. tina said,

    March 2, 2009 at 6:43 pm

    Amen. Very warm weather coming later this week. Do you suppose Mother Nature knows and just has to push the envelope a bit? I hope so.

  4. Janet said,

    March 2, 2009 at 6:53 pm

    Pretty as a peach! 😉 sorry, couldn’t help it.

  5. Brenda Kula said,

    March 2, 2009 at 6:57 pm

    I had no idea peach trees blossomed out so pretty! Yes, the weather is rather weird, to say the least, these days.
    Brenda

  6. Racquel said,

    March 2, 2009 at 8:55 pm

    Awww…a nice sign of spring. Nothing but cold & snow here at the moment. Thanks for reminding me what I have to look forward to soon. 🙂

  7. March 2, 2009 at 10:02 pm

    Beautiful- the picture of spring! I love how the center is darker pink.

  8. Melanthia said,

    March 3, 2009 at 3:00 am

    I love this blossom. It looks like it’s floating there. Nice photo. Out on a walk today I notices some cherry blossoms. I’m watching our apple for blooms, too.

  9. RobinL said,

    March 3, 2009 at 9:04 pm

    Oh, peach blossoms are beautiful! Sorry about the snow, it didn’t actually get to here in the usual snow zones. Bitter cold, yes, but no snow!

    • Jan said,

      March 4, 2009 at 5:38 am

      Robin, wasn’t this last round of snow unusual in where it hit? I never realized how beautiful the individual peach blossom was until we put in these trees.

  10. March 4, 2009 at 11:02 pm

    Never seen a peach flower and this one looks so beautiful! Thank you for the lovely sight.

    • Jan said,

      March 5, 2009 at 5:41 am

      Chandramouli, it is a pretty little flower. I’ll post a picture when more are opened.


Leave a Reply

