Happy for Warm Days

“Happy for Warm Days”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

After what seemed like a winter of endless cold, cloudy days, the weather certainly has changed.  It looks like warm weather has finally pushed Old Man Winter on his way.  Today it was 76 degrees, and the forecast for the next seven days show highs of 78 and lows of about 60 degrees.  Yea!!!

With all this warm weather, more and more signs of nature waking up from winter are appearing.  Today, I noticed that the first of the amaryllis blooms will be opening any day now.  These amaryllis are planted in the ground and bloom in the spring.  We are able to grow these bulbs in the garden because we do not have severe winters.  Even though I know what these amaryllis look like, I can hardly wait for the buds to open.

Opening any day now.

Opening any day now.

The purple freesia has started blooming and is joining the yellow ones that I wrote about last week.  The area of the back garden where they are planted certainly smells wonderful with the scent from these flowers.  That is one of the things I miss during winter – the aroma of the flowers in a garden.

purple-freesia-redu

In early February, the boxwood started sending out new shoots.  At that time, I sheared this hedge back thinking that this would be enough until maybe a light trimming in the summer.  Today, I notice that the whole hedge has leafed out in that lovely spring green that I love so well.  Maybe I ought to trim back these plants every year in late winter.

boxwood-redu

Finally, one more photo of the azaleas that are now just about in full bloom.  These are the ones in the side garden where I can sit for quite a spell enjoying these lovely flowering shrubs.

azalea-hc-garden-redu

I know when the dog days of summer are here, I will be longing for cold weather, but, right now, I am so happy finally to see warm, sunny days.

8 Comments

  1. Brenda Kula said,

    March 5, 2009 at 7:12 pm

    My azaleas are just beginning to bloom. They got frozen when they were blooming somewhat earlier in the season. Stunted them, I suppose. The ones in back that will be pink look a tad better. Probably were more protected.
    Brenda

    • Jan said,

      March 5, 2009 at 7:53 pm

      Brenda, I was holding my breath when we had some cold weather, but the azaleas came through with no damage. There have been some years when just as the azaleas start to bloom, bam, a freeze. Unluckily that didn’t happen this year.

  2. Racquel said,

    March 5, 2009 at 9:34 pm

    No Azalea blooms here yet, but that late snow might of delayed that. Your garden gives me hope that spring should be here soon & in full glory.

  3. March 5, 2009 at 9:56 pm

    I love Freesia! I used to have some here and there in my garden- not sure what happened to them 🙂 I know I didn’t dig them up, so maybe some underground something or another ate them!

  4. Tyra said,

    March 6, 2009 at 4:53 am

    Thank you Jan for the positive and colorful photos. It will be exciting to see your amaryllis, any day now!

    Have a great weekend my friend.

    xoxo Tyra

  5. fairegarden said,

    March 6, 2009 at 6:34 am

    Hi Jan, now we’re talking with those temps! Hooray and hip hip! Love the boxwood growing, and everything else. We are warming up too, but it won’t last, sadly. Some things are unfurling though, such anticipation!
    Frances

  6. Phillip said,

    March 6, 2009 at 8:09 am

    We are supposed to be getting a warm weekend with 70s temperatures. I can’t wait!

  7. Jean said,

    March 6, 2009 at 8:45 am

    How lucky that you have freesias blooming! I’ve always loved their fragrance. Your azaleas look great. Guess that means it’s really spring!


Leave a Reply

