Warm Days

“Warm Days”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Warm days = pretty flowers showing up. 

The solid green flax lily (Dianella) has started blooming.  The variegated flax lily has not started blooming yet, but it has the same tiny blue flowers.

 

flax-flowers-redu

 

The oak leaf hydrangeas have started to leaf out.  I love the pale, celadon green, fuzzy leaves as they first open.

 

oak-leaf-hyd-bud-redu

 

A few weeks back, when my sister and I went plant shopping, I bought two more Mexican Bush Sage plants since the ones I had last year did so well.  The two small plants I purchased have already started blooming. 

 

mex-bush-sage-redu

 

As more and more plants start blooming or leafing out, it is becoming so nice to be out in the garden.  This weekend is supposed to be warm and sunny here – a perfect combination for enjoying and working in a garden.

 

12 Comments

  1. March 6, 2009 at 11:12 pm

    Jan, I’ve never seen that Mexican Bush Sage- I wonder how it would do here in Portland, Or? Could you send me the botanical info you have on it? Happy almost spring!

  2. March 7, 2009 at 3:20 am

    Oh yea, it’s great to have sun out and I had a nice time cleaning up my Mexican Flame Vine’s pot and giving it a nice leaf-cut today under the scorching sun. I know, I’m crazy, but hey it’d get hotter in summer! Your Mexican Bush Sage looks lovely! Somehow all Mexican named plants turn out to be lovely, isn’t it? Like for example the Mexican Sunflower!

  3. patientgardener said,

    March 7, 2009 at 4:12 am

    I agree every time I am out in the garden it is a thrill to see old friends reapearing.

  4. janet said,

    March 7, 2009 at 6:59 am

    It is so nice to see things opening up and showing their color. We are right on the cusp of spring coming. Each day it is nice to check on whether something new has awakened from its winter sleep. The Mexican Bush Sage is very pretty.

  5. tina said,

    March 7, 2009 at 7:36 am

    Have a great weekend in the garden Jan!

  6. Jan said,

    March 7, 2009 at 9:36 am

    Hey, Tessa. I sent you an email with info on Mexican Bush Sage. Hope it helps.

    Chandramouli, I, too, do a lot of strenuous gardening only in early spring or late fall because the heat comes so quickly. In late summer when the Mexican Bush Sage is bigger and starts blooming, it really is gorgeous. That is why I have added some more.

    PG, there are so many things popping up now, that it is hard to contain my enthusiasm for the returning plants.

    Janet, even though plants have started blooming or coming back, it is still so exciting to see new things. It seems that this year, spring has come forth in a rush rather than a bit at a time.

    Tina, you have a great weekend too. I’m just taking a short break before going back outside again.

  7. March 7, 2009 at 3:34 pm

    That is a lovely sage–I love the white with the blue. I don’t know the name of mine; it’s an herbal sage, and far from the first thing to bloom in the garden.
    –Kate

  8. March 7, 2009 at 3:53 pm

    Jan, You are so fortunate to have such nice looking growth already! But then, I’m a ways north of you, yet. You do have a couple of items I don’t think I can grow… such as the Dianella and perhaps the particular variety of sage you’ve pictured. That also makes it fun to visit gardens in different places! 🙂 Happy Spring!

  9. Mary Beth said,

    March 7, 2009 at 5:01 pm

    I am also a fan of Mexican Bush Sage – bought some last year for the first time and it is still going strong! The blue color is more vibrant than ever,

  10. Brenda Kula said,

    March 7, 2009 at 6:30 pm

    I bought the Mexican bush sage as well. But mine isn’t blooming yet! Hopefully soon.
    Brenda

  11. Ginger said,

    March 7, 2009 at 8:50 pm

    Jan,
    Thank you for identifying my mystery flower!

    When is the proper time to plant hydrangeas? Thanks!

  12. Jan said,

    March 8, 2009 at 7:51 pm

    Kate, I am starting to grow more and more sages/salvias. There is such a variety out there.

    SG, I, too, like to see pictures of plants and flowers even if I can’t grow them here. We are fortunate that spring has come in with a rush. This year there has been no slow showing up of springtime as is usual.

    Mary Beth, I fell in love with Mexican Bush Sage when I saw an article in Southern Living years ago. Last year was my first success with this plant, and I am thinking of other areas of the garden to plant it. I love the foliage color as well as the blooms.

    Brenda, this is a short day bloomer, so if it doesn’t bloom this spring, hold on for late summer when it is a show stopper.

    Ginger, you are welcome. I think those are lovely flowers. You can plant hydrangeas now since you are in the Coastal South. Just keep them watered.


Leave a Reply

