A Day in the Garden

“A Day in the Garden”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Today was a gorgeous, spring day here on the Gulf Coast.  I was able to work in the garden all day.  First thing this morning, I fertilized all the cool season annuals which is definitely helping them to stay blooming.  Next, I tackled the patio garden.  I cut out all the old holly fern fronds (two garbage cans full that went on the compost pile), weeded, and dug out some blackberry vines that had shown up as volunteers.  Tomorrow, I am hoping to start cutting back the lirope that edges the beds.

 

This year we did have some hard freezes, but I am surprised at the plants that made it through just fine.  Most of these are tender perennials.  All of the white wax begonias are coming back, as are some of the red wax begonias.  The Lady in Red salvia is coming back strong, and one plant is putting out flowers already.

 

lady-in-red-salvia-redu

 

The white Lady Banks rose should be blooming any day now.

 

lady-banks-redu

 

The wild white onions are blooming in the lawn.  This really reminds me of when I was a child, and my father would mow the lawn for the first time in spring.  Boy, you really could smell those onions.

 

wild-onions-redu

 

And, the violas are still blooming, and I will be sorry to see them go when the hot weather starts.  Pansies and violas are my favorite flowers.  I love all the colors they come in, and besides, they seem like such happy little flowers.

 

pansies-redu1

 

Well, tonight is the night when we spring forward our clocks for daylight savings time, but after working out in the garden all day, I don’t think I’ll be springing out of bed tomorrow.

 

 

14 Comments

  1. blossom said,

    March 8, 2009 at 1:16 am

    I like those pansies and violas in particular. Lovely! Blue, purple and yellow work well. I’m experimenting color combination in my garden. Hopefully, they will turn out great.

  2. March 8, 2009 at 4:41 am

    Pretty, pretty, pretty – lovely to see your fantastic spring day Jan. / Tyra

  3. tina said,

    March 8, 2009 at 6:47 am

    Glad you reminded me on daylight savings time. I did NOT set mine back though the computer time is correct.

  4. Gail said,

    March 8, 2009 at 7:26 am

    Hi Jan, There is nothing quite like early spring in any garden! Nice capture on The Lady In Red Salvia…I hope mine survived the winter! If your onions don’t have an onion odor when the stems are crushed, they may be False garlic (Nothoscordum bivalve) a native wildflower~~they are lovely aren’t they! I have them around here someplace! gail

  5. Brenda Kula said,

    March 8, 2009 at 9:11 am

    My Lady Banks is not setting buds as of yet. But now I think I know what grows in my pond area. Must be those wild onions you show. They look like single weeds and then have that small flower. I cut my holly ferns all the way back two weeks ago and they’ve grown probably two or more feet in that time!
    Brenda

  6. March 8, 2009 at 1:30 pm

    I’m glad for the springing ahead of the clock even though spring is still absent without leave around here. Luckily I have sites like yours (and photos of gorgeous plants) to help me keep my sanity!

  7. Jan said,

    March 8, 2009 at 7:04 pm

    Blossom, I can’t get enough of violas or pansies. Any color, any type, they’re my favorites.

    Thanks, Tyra. I’m sure it won’t be too very long, before you are posting spring pictures.

    Tina, I don’t know about you, but I sure don’t like starting daylight savings time so early. I am glad I put that comment in the post so you were reminded.

    Gail, I am always surprised when that salvia survives the winter. I also noticed some Coral Nymph salvia coming back in another area. Those do smell like onions when crushed, and you are right, they are attractive little flowers.

    Brenda, my Lady Banks is just starting, so I am sure yours can’t be too far behind. I couldn’t believe how much I cut out of my holly ferns, and they still look so full and thick. I still have several more in other areas to do.

    Jodi, I am glad that my pictures help. I sort of feel the same way when the heat of summer hits here, and the garden just kind of stops. It is then nice to see all the roses and lilies in more northern areas.

  8. Ginger said,

    March 8, 2009 at 7:52 pm

    I love the colors of spring and your photography really shows them off. Our yard is also full of the onion flowers, and I think they are so cute! The neighbors are ready for us to mow, but I always wait until after the onion flowers and spiderworts bloom.

    Thanks for your hydrangea advice on my blog!

    • Jan said,

      March 8, 2009 at 7:56 pm

      Thanks, Ginger, for the kind comments. I, too like the wild onions, they are such sweet little flowers. Don’t worry about the neighbors, I am not ready to mow either. I hope the hydrangea advice helps.

  9. RobinL said,

    March 8, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    All your spring flowers are so lovely, especially the violas. I love that combination of orange and purple.

  10. Mary Beth said,

    March 8, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    I’m jealous – I would have loved to spend the day in the garden. There’s just so much to do this time of year! You mentioned trimming back your liriope. Do you trim the old, outside leaves or all of it? How short to you cut it? Every couple of years, I cut mine back, but I’m never sure if I’m doing it right.
    Mary Beth

  11. Sherry said,

    March 8, 2009 at 11:00 pm

    Lovely photos, Jan. I especially love those cheerful pansies and violas!

  12. Jan said,

    March 9, 2009 at 4:41 am

    Thanks, Robin. I didn’t plan that, but I do like it now that it has happened. Sometimes it does work out when plants are mismarked.

    Mary Beth, you can trim lirope back as far as you want as long as you do not trim back the new growth. Right now that new growth is showing up here, so I trim mine back to about three inches. I do this by hand because of the way my garden beds are, but you can also use a string trimmer or a lawn mower set on a high setting.

    Thanks, Sherry. I love those flowers, too.

  13. March 9, 2009 at 11:33 am

    Must. Plant. More. Violas.


Leave a Reply

