First Roses

“First Roses”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

The first roses of the year have started showing up.  They are the Cherokee roses, the Blushing Knockout, and the Lady Banks.

The Cherokee roses are large, rambling ones with canes up to twenty feet long.  These do not grow on my property but do grow on the road outside our subdivision.  Cherokee  is a once a year bloomer, but the many, large flowers certainly makes an impression that lasts a year.

 

cherokee-rose-spray-redu

 

The first Blushing Knockout rose has bloomed.  This is my favorite Knockout which is a softer, shell pink.  I just saw the newest Knockout, White Out, in a catalog, and that is one I want to see in person.  I love white flowers, and if it looks as good as the photograph I saw, it just may replace Blushing as my favorite.

 

bl-knout-redu

 

Finally, Lady Banks has just started opening her roses.  I have the white cultivar of Lady Banks which does not seem as popular as the yellow, but then, I have a weakness for white flowers.

 

lady-banks-redu1

 

After several months of no roses, it is good to be able to welcome them back to the garden.

14 Comments

  1. Ann said,

    March 12, 2009 at 7:02 pm

    Roses in March! Unfathomable to a northeast gardener. I am green with envy. Will have to endure another 31/2 – 4 months likely before enjoying the few I have in my gardens. At least I can enjoy yours remotely. Thanks for sharing these photos.
    Ann

  2. Jan said,

    March 12, 2009 at 7:20 pm

    Ann, sorry you won’t have any real experiences with roses for months. There are already buds on the other roses, but they won’t be opening for a while. Enjoy my photos until yours start blooming, or maybe you need to take a little vacation down South to have a little fun seeing everything that is in bloom right now.

  3. March 12, 2009 at 7:23 pm

    Oh Jan—very awesome! I didn’t know KnockOuts had a white. Thank you for mentioning it. And…my blush isn’t as pretty as yours. I planted a Lady Banks yellow last year to grow up an Elm tree. The white is pretty cool.

    • Jan said,

      March 12, 2009 at 7:40 pm

      Anna, I just saw the White Out, though I had heard they had a white one in the works last year. Blushing does get a little paler in hotter weather. My mother had a yellow Lady Banks which was gorgeous every spring, so I am sure yours will look nice, too. When I found a white one, I grabbed it because the white goes better than the yellow would where I needed to plant a climbing rose bush.

  4. Janet said,

    March 13, 2009 at 6:53 am

    Jan, they are so pretty. I also am looking at one of the newer Knock outs– the yellow one. I apparently have a thing for yellow (and its compliment- purple). I do have a red and white garden. Actually a red garden with white accents. White has a nice punch in the landscape.
    Janet

  5. Phillip said,

    March 13, 2009 at 7:02 am

    I’m getting excited because I know my Lady Banks should be blooming soon. I have the regular KnockOut but haven’t tried the others.

  6. Randy said,

    March 13, 2009 at 8:53 am

    Jan,
    We have the yellow and the white Lady Banks too. There’s also a Pink Lady Banks and another white with simpler petals on it. I’d love to get all four.

  7. Racquel said,

    March 13, 2009 at 9:44 am

    Roses in March! You are one lucky gardener Jan! I’ve been looking at the new single white & yellow Knockouts too. They are really great in my area with our high humidity. No more blackspot & they bloom from May-Dec every year. 🙂

  8. March 13, 2009 at 1:04 pm

    YAY! Lady banks is such a star, Jan. I’d go for it

  9. March 13, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    I can only repeat what others have said: roses in March! (And so pretty, too–)
    –Kate

  10. Jon said,

    March 13, 2009 at 11:03 pm

    Jan,
    “A rose is a rose is a rose” is an expression I don’t quite find true as in the amazing diversity we see today, and as shown in your lovely photos. Nice post and thanks for sharing. Isn’t it a joy to see spring busting out all over?

    Jon at Mississippi Garden

  11. Jen said,

    March 14, 2009 at 9:09 am

    I know we won’t get roses until June at least. I was reading in the gardening section of yesterdays paper about the “knockout” series. They look spectacular.

    Jen

  12. Brenda Kula said,

    March 14, 2009 at 9:43 am

    My Lady Banks has yet to form buds. Of course it’s rained cats and dogs here for almost a week. I have a red rose that’s been trying to open all week, probably waiting for a bit of sun.
    Brenda

  13. Gail said,

    March 15, 2009 at 11:28 am

    Hello…they are all lovely! I’ve been given a Lady Banks Rose and she remains unplanted…as I search for the perfect home! It looks like she’s a yellow flowered one! Any suggestions were she might be happiest? gail


Leave a Reply

