Mama’s Roses

“Mama’s Roses”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

I have written about these roses before.  These were the first roses I ever grew.  They are ones that my mother rooted for me from her rose bush.  I have two of these old climbing roses bushes, one in the back garden, and one on the side of the house.  We are not sure of the name of this rose since my mother got a cutting from a friend’s neighbor about forty-five years ago.

 

pink-rose-spray-redu

 

My mother has about five of these pink climbers growing around her home on arbors and fences.   My rose bushes have just started blooming well and should do so for several weeks.  These are very easy to care for roses since nothing seems to bother them.  Even though I do not know the name of this particular rose, I know it must have been very popular in the late 1950’s or early 1960’s because when you go through neighborhoods that were established about that time, you see large specimens of this climber.  It also looks like this must have been passed from neighbor to neighbor in these areas just as my mother received hers.  She has given rooted cuttings to my sisters, my daughter, and to countless friends keeping up the pass along tradition. 

 

A large piece of this rose rooted in water for me several years ago, and I gave that piece to my daughter.  This year I did try to root several cuttings the traditional way, and two survived.  I guess I am just keeping this rose alive because every time I see these small, pink roses, they remind me of my mother and how she loved her garden.

8 Comments

  1. Sheila said,

    March 16, 2009 at 8:35 pm

    Lovely rose, lovely story.

  2. janet said,

    March 16, 2009 at 9:26 pm

    What a nice memory. A nice pass along.

  3. Randy said,

    March 17, 2009 at 6:01 am

    What a lovely rose and a beautiful story. I’ve always had the most difficult time rooting roses.

  4. Brenda Kula said,

    March 17, 2009 at 9:05 am

    What a wonderful memory! Pass-a-longs are the best. Because each time we look at a plant, we think of the person who gave it to us. I never had a mother, so no memories float to mind. But I smile when I read a post like this. Because then I know what it must have felt like to have one.
    Brenda

  5. Melody said,

    March 17, 2009 at 11:56 am

    Those lovely roses look like the pass-along roses around North Florida, where I live. They have several names, depending on who you ask – Seven Sisters, Pink Pet, Barnsley’s Pink. I have one of each and they all look the same – lol.

  6. donna said,

    March 18, 2009 at 3:55 am

    To be reminded of your mother when you look at these pretty pink roses is a very good reason to take good care of them. Nice story.

  7. RobinL said,

    March 18, 2009 at 7:33 pm

    Your family sounds like experts in rooting roses! I’ve only done it once with success. You can read about it in my post on February 1st of this year, when I talk about my “borrowed” rose. Sure hope it’s still growing there in my former garden.

  8. Jan said,

    March 20, 2009 at 4:50 am

    Thanks, Shelia. I love having plants in my garden that can remind me of my favorite people.

    Janet, it is a nice plant to pass to friends.

    Randy, this is really the first time I have tried. I think rooting is easier in cooler weather.

    Brenda, I, too, like the stories that often come with plants. We have to remember that when we pass something along, we are also becoming part to someone’s memories.

    Thanks, Melody, for some names. My sisters and I have often wondered what this rose was. I have heard it called Seven Sisters, but didn’t know if that was right. I’ll have to look up the others to see how closely they resemble mine.

    Donna, you are so right. I just hope the next generation will remember this story and keep the rose alive.

    Robin, my mother could root a dead twig. She is just unbelievable when it comes to having a green thumb. I’ll have to check out your rooting post.


Leave a Reply

