A Yellow Flame

“A Yellow Flame”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

The yellow Florida flame azalea (Rhododendron austrinum) has suddenly burst into bloom.  This is considered a native azalea and is deciduous.  The golden yellow flowers start blooming just before the leaves emerge.

 

flame-azalea-clsp-redu

 

This azalea is not a full, thick shrub like the evergreen Indica azaleas but has clusters of sparsely branched stems.  When in flower, it is a stand out, however, when winter comes and it loses it leaves, it really does blend in to the background.  It grows as  a very upright shrub which can reach six feet.  Mine is only about three years old and is about three feet tall.  I am really looking forward to its growing taller so I will have more flowers.

 

flame-azalea-branch-redu

 

The blooms do not last too long, but while they last, they seem to glow especially in the shade.  I would love to add more to the garden, but I don’t often see them offered at our nurseries.  I have planted this one in the circle garden which has mostly yellow flowers, so it does have other plants around which blend in well with its vivid, golden yellow blossoms.

 

I wasn’t aware of deciduous azaleas until just a few years ago.  I am so glad I discovered these wonderful shrubs because they really add another dimension to the spring garden.

12 Comments

  1. March 19, 2009 at 8:37 pm

    Hi Jan!
    Good evening. The blossoms look splendorous. Would love to see your circle garden in toto.

  2. Jan said,

    March 20, 2009 at 4:25 am

    Chandramouli, I’ll have to post a photo of the circle garden. Things are coming back there. The only things blooming right now are some violas, the flame azalea, and yellow day jasmine. The day lilies should be setting buds soon.

  3. Janet said,

    March 20, 2009 at 6:04 am

    We have a few native deciduous azaleas in our Learning Garden and Flame is one of them. You are right, when it blooms it really shines. Ours is on the edge of the woods, so the green backdrop sets off the blooms beautifully.

  4. andré said,

    March 20, 2009 at 8:08 am

    Wow, it’s amazing! 🙂

  5. Brenda Kula said,

    March 20, 2009 at 1:33 pm

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen a yellow azalea. And I so love yellow flowers!
    Brenda

  6. Jan said,

    March 20, 2009 at 3:06 pm

    Janet, I bet being right on the edge of the woods with a green background is truly lovely when it blooms. This is a great azalea. I am thinking about trying to find a plum leaf azalea to put in the garden. It, too, is deciduous.

    Andre, this azalea really is lovely when it blooms.

    Brenda, I just discovered these azaleas a few years ago, and I don’t think I have seen them in any gardens around here, unfortunately. They really do well and are so pretty.

  7. donna said,

    March 20, 2009 at 4:05 pm

    Once again you’ve introduced me to a bloom I would never have known about had it not been for your blog. Your descriptions are as good as your photography.

    • Jan said,

      March 21, 2009 at 5:01 am

      Thank you, Donna, for the kind comment. One of the nice things about the Internet and blogging is finding out about new things. I know I have been introduced to many great plants just by reading about them on blogs.

  8. Sweet Bay said,

    March 24, 2009 at 6:17 pm

    R. austrinum is one of my favorite azaleas! Such beautiful flowers, and fragrant too.

    There are 2 mail-order nurseries that I really like that sell native azaleas: Niche Gardens and Sunlight Gardens. I think of the 2 I like SG’s azaleas the best.

    • Jan said,

      March 24, 2009 at 7:22 pm

      I am familiar with those two nurseries, and it is funny you should mention them because I was looking just this weekend at the websites trying to decide if I should order some more decidious azaleas. Thanks for the info about SG.

  9. T Saunders said,

    June 24, 2010 at 6:27 pm

    I am thinking of purchasing a native azalea, does anyone have a picture of the plant during times that the leaves have fallen off, as oppossed to the evergreen azaleas?

    • Jan said,

      June 24, 2010 at 6:51 pm

      I don’t have any photos of the bare branches, but I can tell you that my azalea when it is without leaves tends to blend into the background and is not that noticeable. The branching is vase-shaped and the individual branches are rather delicate. Hope this helps.


Leave a Reply

