A Rose is a Rose – Not

“A Rose is a Rose – Not”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

When is a rose not a rose?  When it is a rosebud azalea. 

Just about the time that the Indica azaleas begin to fade, the rosebud azaleas start up.  These shrubs are called “rosebud” because their opening buds really do resemble a rosebud.  Even the double flowers seem to look like an opened rose.  The first one I bought was a lovely pink.  The first photo shows the bud stage, and the second an opened flower with a tiny tree frog tucked inside trying to keep warm after a cool night.

 

rosebud-azalea-bud-redu1

 

rosebud-azalea-redu

 

Two years ago, I bought a purple rosebud called Amelia.  It, too, has the same rosebud look in a lovely spring color.

 

purple-rosebud-azalea-redu

 

Because of their unique flower shape, I think these azaleas are best planted where the flowers can be appreciated.  I planted mine in the front of the border so the flowers are noticed as soon as you walk by.  These azaleas are not very common yet, and they should be because they extend the azalea season and have lovely, different flowers.

20 Comments

  1. Janet said,

    March 22, 2009 at 6:14 am

    Jan, I have seen a white rosebud azalea and just love it! You are right that is needs to be planted where it can be appreciated. I like the pink one you have, and Mr. Froggy is cute too!

    • Jan said,

      March 23, 2009 at 4:22 am

      Janet, I did not know there was a white version, too. We seem to have those tiny tree frogs all over usually snuggled in flowers or bulb foliage trying to stay warm at night I suppose.

      Joy, as soon as I saw this in bloom, I had to have it, too. If you can’t find it locally, I know it is available online.

      Blossom, I was a little taken aback when I first saw it, but quickly recognized what it was. The colors of these azaleas are perfect for springtime.

      Brenda, these are not too very common, yet. There are many azalea growers just north of me, and that is where I found mine.

      Shelia, I never thought of camellias and these azaleas as a way to have “roses” throughout the year, but your idea is true.

      Thanks, Jen, for the lovely comment. Springtime is when my garden does look its best.

      Nancy, these are lovely. When mine get a little bigger, they should look even better.

      Anna, these definitely need to be a focal point and close up where people will see them. From a distance, these just seem to be regular azaleas, pretty but not striking. My mother has these in a bed by her front door which seems to be a perfect place for them.

      Chandramouli, they are not fragrant, unfortunately, but their unique flower shape makes up for that.

  2. Joy said,

    March 22, 2009 at 6:18 am

    Now I have to have one for sure ! .. they look so much like a rose it is amazing ! .. I wonder if I can find any around Kingston .. I have to put this on my LIST ! : )

  3. Blossom said,

    March 22, 2009 at 6:29 am

    Oh that’s a frog – I got a chill thinking of what might that be …
    I love the color of your azaleas. So soft …

  4. Brenda Kula said,

    March 22, 2009 at 8:54 am

    I’ve learned something new from you once again. I didn’t know there was such a creature! And here I am in azalea country.
    Brenda

  5. Sheila said,

    March 22, 2009 at 9:47 am

    How unique! I’ve never seen one before. I will have to be on the lookout for one because I always say that camellias are the roses of winter, but I guess it is more likely an azalea!

  6. Jen said,

    March 22, 2009 at 10:56 am

    Stunning color, beautiful photos. Ah spring, it is soon to be here.

    Jen

  7. nancybond said,

    March 22, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    I’ve never seen this azalea either, and they’re lovely!

  8. March 22, 2009 at 9:54 pm

    It is worth being a focal point.

  9. March 22, 2009 at 10:06 pm

    This sure looks better than rose. Is it fragrant?

  10. Mary Beth said,

    March 23, 2009 at 6:04 am

    Jan – I’m jealous that you can grow azaleas! Our soil is too alkaline for them. Just beautiful!

  11. Randy said,

    March 23, 2009 at 9:33 am

    No way! I have never seen these before! I have to have ‘Amelia’!!!
    Where did you get these, Jan?

  12. patsi said,

    March 23, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    Now that’s a pretty flower !
    Don’t believe I’ve seen an azalea so lovely.
    My azaleas are ho hum.

  13. Jan said,

    March 23, 2009 at 7:42 pm

    Mary Beth, what a shame you can’t grow azaleas, but I am sure there are plants you can grow that I can’t. I guess it all evens out.

    Randy, I bought these azaleas from growers around here, though I haven’t really seen them in any nurseries. I bought Amelia at a garden show. I am sure if you search the internet there are nurseries that offer them. They really would be nice in an area where you could see them up close.

    Patsi, these are different. I just love them. It is amazing what growers are doing these days.

  14. Sherry said,

    March 23, 2009 at 10:26 pm

    Oh, these are gorgeous. They really do look like roses!

    • Jan said,

      March 24, 2009 at 4:30 am

      These really do look like roses, don’t they, Sherry? I am so glad I found them.

  15. Sweet Bay said,

    March 24, 2009 at 6:14 pm

    Hmm, I don’t think I’ve ever seen a rosebud azalea before. Where have I been?! The flowers are lovely.

    • Jan said,

      March 24, 2009 at 7:28 pm

      I don’t think the rosebud azaleas are that popular, yet. I haven’t seen them except at some of the growers here. There are a lot of azalea growers around here, in fact, Buddy Lee, the developer of the Encore azaleas, lives about 30 miles from me.

  16. Sweet Bay said,

    March 25, 2009 at 8:28 pm

    That is interesting. I will have to keep a lookout for the rosebud azaleas then.

    I love the Encore Azaleas. I have a few Encore Amethysts and they are my favorite evergreen azalea.

  17. Toma said,

    March 29, 2009 at 11:40 am

    I grow my Azaleas in big containers.They gorgeous. Outside winter & snow , but my all plants in blooms 40F to 50F. Best & favor.- White Rosebud. I love them all!


Leave a Reply

