Proven Wrong

“Proven Wrong”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

About three years ago, dear hubby planted an avocado seed.  I told him it wouldn’t last the winter since this is a semitropical fruit at best.  He nursed that little seedling all winter, and it did survive the cold, proving me wrong.

The next summer, the little avocado seedling grew to about three feet tall, and he transplanted it into a large container.  Since he was moving a plant from a six inch pot to a twenty-four inch pot, I told him the new container was way too big, but he ignored me.  The little avocado tree grew to about five feet tall.

The next winter was spent trying to cover a five foot tree in about a three foot tall pot off and on as the temperature dipped and rose above freezing.  Dear hubby kept talking about having avocado fruit maybe the coming summer.  I just laughed and told him that avocado trees didn’t bear fruit here, besides it sometimes takes years for one to fruit according to what I have read.

Last summer the tree grew to about seven feet and was too tall to cover this winter.  DH just moved it to a rather sheltered location and hoped for the best.  It made it through this winter even though there were several hard freezes.

This spring, I couldn’t believe my eyes.  The tree had flowers.

avocado-flower

Now, I have read that avocado trees usually need another tree to be pollinated, but after being proven wrong that this tree would even survive, much less grow and flower in three years, I won’t be surprised at all if there are avocados on the tree by summer.  At least DH has not gloated.

18 Comments

  1. Sue said,

    March 23, 2009 at 7:54 pm

    Awesome!

    • Jan said,

      March 24, 2009 at 5:35 pm

      It is surprising, Sue.

      Blossom, I won’t be surprised either. I can’t believe this tree has matured like this already.

      Shelia, I did see something about them being self-pollinators, but also that it is better if you have two plants. I don’t know yet if we will get any avocados or if they will be able to stay on the tree. We’ll see.

      Melanthia, I have to admit that now I do hope that I am proven wrong.

      Yes, Tina, I guess he does.

      Janet, it would be very nice to have a few avocados. We are keeping our fingers crossed, but there is a lot that must happen before we actually see fruit.

      Chandramouli, I guess it is persistence, and it just might pay off in this instance.

      Nat, I guess know one can know everything, and there are always exceptions to the rules. Maybe Mother Nature is just being a tad perverse to show us we don’t know everything about plants.

  2. Blossom said,

    March 23, 2009 at 8:45 pm

    Congrats to both of you. I won’t be surprised to see some avocados on that tree by summer either.

  3. Sheila said,

    March 23, 2009 at 10:41 pm

    Avocado trees have both male and female parts on the same branch so they are self-pollinators. You may be eating avocados by next spring!

  4. Melanthia said,

    March 24, 2009 at 12:55 am

    How wonderful that it’s doing so well. I hope you continue to be proven wrong! teehee

  5. tina said,

    March 24, 2009 at 5:28 am

    But you know he has every right too:)

  6. Janet said,

    March 24, 2009 at 5:44 am

    Sounds like you will be having some avocados in the near future. What fun.

  7. March 24, 2009 at 7:59 am

    Persistence! Your hubby seems to have that trait in him, which I admire. Let him know I bow down in front of him for that.

  8. Nat Huck said,

    March 24, 2009 at 11:11 am

    I told the same thing to my brother about a fig tree that he planted IN THE GROUND in his yard. Nobody can grow figs here! It’s been three years now and it’s healthy as a weed. I’m expecting fruit any day now. Just when you think you know your stuff…. 🙂

  9. Mary Beth said,

    March 24, 2009 at 1:11 pm

    How fun! I just heard come nurserymen talking about avocados and found a few of their “facts”interesting. You won’t know what type of avocado your tree will produce if the tree was grown from seed (they cross pollinate). I think he said the nursery stock are grafted (or did he say, they are started from cuttings so they’re a clone). Then he said that a tree grown from seed will take 6 – 12 years to produce fruit. Since yours had already defied all the “rules”, I expect you’ll be posting pics of your fruit this summer.

    • Jan said,

      March 24, 2009 at 5:40 pm

      Mary Beth, I have read the same things that your nurserymen have said. It seems most avocados are grafted, seed grown ones can take years to produce fruit, and you don’t know exactly what type you have. It will be interesting if the fruit will set, and we do get one or more avocados.

      Brenda, if we do get some decent avocados, I won’t mind being wrong. Since I got my info from “experts” I guess I will be in good company.

      Nancy, yes, DH is a pretty sweet guy. I’ll be sure to post photos if there is pollination and if the fruit does set.

  10. Brenda Kula said,

    March 24, 2009 at 1:20 pm

    Well, you just never know, do you? Don’t you hate to be wrong? Especially with something (plants) you know so well. And with someone you live with who can gloat whenever the mood strikes him…
    Brenda

  11. nancybond said,

    March 24, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    Lucky you — and how nice that hubby hasn’t gloated. Yet. 😉 You’ll have to show us a photo of the whole tree — it looks like it has very nice leaves.

  12. Michelle said,

    March 25, 2009 at 5:45 am

    Guacamole party at your place this summer!!! LOL On a more serious note… don’t you just “hate” it when they’re right?????

    Michelle @Getting Dirty in Texas

    • Jan said,

      March 26, 2009 at 4:50 am

      Michelle, I still can’t believe that tree has survived this long much less flowered. I am attributing his success to beginner’s luck.

      Robin, I have read the same thing but am thinking if we get fruit, it may not be commercial quality, which tends to go for uniformity and shipping stamina, but could be okay for home use. Only time will tell, and like you said, it is a free plant.

  13. RobinL said,

    March 25, 2009 at 7:08 am

    I just started rooting an avocado pit myself, so maybe there’s hope for me too! LOL Okay, so I live too far north, but at least it’s a free houseplant. I was reading about indoor avocado’s recently, and it said that the ones you start from a pit don’t usually have good fruit, you have to start with grafted trees. Oh well!

  14. keewee said,

    March 25, 2009 at 8:38 am

    yay! for your sweetie’s determination, perseverance, or whatever you may call it, getting the avocado to that point is a marvelous achievement.

  15. yolanda said,

    October 5, 2009 at 5:03 pm

    maybe there is hope for my little trees, i just pushed the seeds of a couple of avacados we had eaten down into a large pot by the back door, no drying of seed or suspending it in water, didn’t really expect anything, but now i have two plants about 18-20 inches tall. its getting cooler and i was wondering what to do with them. i live just north of atlanta,ga so i have no idea if they can survive outdoors here or not. your hubby’s little tree has given me hope, hats off to his persistence!


Leave a Reply

