I’ll Have a Double

“I’ll Have a Double”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

In checking my garden journal from previous years, it seems that many plants are blooming a month to six weeks earlier than last year.  Some of these early bloomers are the amaryllis (hippeastrum) bulbs.  I showcased Apple Blossom yesterday, and today I’ll feature a double flowered one.

I bought this one years ago, maybe six years or so.  I didn’t have many amaryllis then, and this was supposed to be a pink variety.   Of course, it was mismarked, as seems to be my luck, but it was huge when it bloomed.  It is a double flowering one, and from photos I have searched, it seems that this just might be Aphrodite.

 

double-amaryliss-redu

 

At first, I was very disappointed in this particular bulb, but it has grown on me and now is welcomed in the garden.  I particularly like the green throat this flower has.  The bulb has not made any off sets yet, even after all these years, but the bulb is gigantic and the flowers are still big.

 

double-amaryliss-clsp-redu

 

The nine inch blooms certainly stand out even when all the other spring flowers are opening up and showing their new colors.  After growing this bulb for years, I would like to have even more double amaryllis.  I guess this means I need to look into finding a good company that stocks double amaryllis.

13 Comments

  1. March 27, 2009 at 6:50 pm

    I can see why you want more. My goodness that is magnificent.

    • Jan said,

      March 27, 2009 at 7:09 pm

      Anna, this is a spectacular flower, and it is so big.

      Robin, they are nice when winter is in control of outside, and they are blooming inside, but I have to agree with you that these bulbs look really good in the garden.

      Racquel, I didn’t know amaryllis came in doubles until this one bloomed years ago. You are right about it being a beauty. I just wish you could see how it looks in person.

  2. Robin said,

    March 27, 2009 at 6:51 pm

    How beautiful! I think they look so much prettier when blooming outside.

  3. Racquel said,

    March 27, 2009 at 7:01 pm

    Double beauty indeed!

  4. Janet said,

    March 27, 2009 at 7:46 pm

    Oh my Jan, that is just gorgeous! You are making me green with envy with those amaryllis.

  5. March 27, 2009 at 9:19 pm

    Awesome! That’s double the beauty and double the joy! It’s petals seem so soft. Do they feel the same?

  6. Phillip said,

    March 27, 2009 at 9:41 pm

    Oh, I like that very much!

  7. patsi said,

    March 28, 2009 at 3:58 am

    So beautiful. I keep seeing so many different kinds of flowers I know nothing about. Someday….

  8. phempton said,

    March 28, 2009 at 8:26 am

    Hi Jan…Amaryllis is one of those plants on the back burner for me. I love them but keep waiting to try them. I’m inspired now! I guess since you’re in Lousiana, they must do fine here in Austin too. What’s your technique for growing them outside?

  9. March 28, 2009 at 9:54 am

    Gorgeous! I so love watching everyone’s Amaryllis, as I didn’t have any this year! There are so many things other bloggers grew this year that I want to get, especially indoors, I didn’t do any! I think I’d better start making a list!

  10. Jan said,

    March 28, 2009 at 5:15 pm

    Janet, amaryllis is something I have just started planting in the last few years. Even I sometimes can’t believe how gorgeous these flowers are.

    Chandramouli, yes, the petals are soft, but not floppy. They are not as thick as a calla lily’s flower. You are right about it being double the beauty and joy.

    Yes, Philip, I like it too, now. I don’t know how I didn’t like it at first.

    Patsi, I feel that way, too. Reading all these garden blogs can be bad for the purse strings.

    Phempton, I think they should do fine in Austin. If you plant them outside, you should wait until April. Plant the bulb with about the top one third uncovered. It should not be planted too deeply, or it will not bloom. Any garden soil that is well-drained is fine. I keep mine mulched with pine straw. I think Austin has had lower temperatures this winter than we had, so you may need to make sure they are thickly mulched in the winter. I have found these to be easy to grow in the garden, and people here have been doing just that for decades. I hope this helps.

    Tessa, I know the feeling. There are so many plants that I, too, have seen on blogs that I missed out on planting this year. Well, at least I can enjoy them through pictures until I get my act together.

  11. Wilie said,

    March 30, 2009 at 7:56 am

    phempton I live about an hour or two out of austin and have had great luck growing growing them. Mine aren’t as beautiful as these double ones would love having some of them in my garden. A friend gave me some years ago just the single red colored ones and I really didnt have a place for them but dug me a place under a tree in my back yard and they did wonderful. I now have them moved up to the side of the house. They seem to like getting alot of shade as both areas Ive had them in only got a little morning sun none of the full on hot sun of the afternoon.

    • Jan said,

      March 31, 2009 at 4:32 am

      Thanks, Wilie, for the info. I sure hope Phempton grows some outside.


Leave a Reply

