Big Red

“Big Red”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

The last two posts have been about the amaryllis (hippeastrum) that I have growing in the garden.  Well, here is another.  In the last few years I have really become a big fan of these plants.  Originally, about ten years ago, I started with Red Lion bulbs that I bought in the winter and then planted in the garden in the spring.  I liked Red Lion, but was never enamored with them because the color had more of an orange tinge to the red, and I like more of a truer red.  I stopped buying them after just a few years.  Then, about four years ago, the secretary at work brought me some amaryllis bulbs from her garden.  These were huge, big bulbs that put out huge, big deep red flowers.  These big red amaryllis got me started on the road to amaryllis addiction.

 

red-amaryllis-redu

 

These amaryllis (name unknown) are wonderful.  It is hard sometimes to capture the true color of red with a digital camera.  These are a deep red, almost a deep cherry red.  These bulbs are very vigorous; even in my clay soil, they are producing offsets quickly.  It is not uncommon for there to be seven blooms on one stalk, and several bulbs have produced two or more stalks.  One thing I love about these is the shape of the buds as they just about to open.   The petals always seem to puff up and then open.  They remind me of hot air balloons.

 

red-amaryllis-bud-redu

 

 The lady who gave me these amaryllis was very generous.  I couldn’t believe she had so many to share, but she kept assuring me that she needed to thin out the bed they were in and she still had enough for her garden.  I even had some to share with my mother, daughter, and sister.  I am so thankful that I was able to get these wonderful, beautifully colored red flowers. 

 

amaryllis-in-entry-redu

 

I have these in the gardens on both sides of the front walk.  The big red flowers make a welcoming sight as you approach the front door.  I am going to hate when they finish blooming.

9 Comments

  1. Tatyana said,

    March 28, 2009 at 6:42 pm

    These flowers of yours are gorgeous but I also like the story behind them. I like plants that were given to me, I call them “Debra’s palm”, “Maura’s clematis”, etc. Happy gardening!

    • Jan said,

      March 28, 2009 at 9:11 pm

      Tatyana, I do the same thing, too. I call these Margaret G. amaryllis. I am very lucky in having so many gardeners who have passed along plants to me.

      Janet, the bloom period can last a week or more depending on how warm it gets. If we get a warm spell or hard rain, they don’t last as long. Because I have many different varieties that bloom at different times, I have amaryllis flowers for at least a month.

      Racquel, I know I am very lucky to have such generous friends and family. These amaryllis are among my favorite flowers because of that beautiful red color.

  2. Janet said,

    March 28, 2009 at 7:06 pm

    Those are just beautiful Jan. How long does the bloom period last? I did plant a couple amaryllis last year and hope the voles haven’t eaten them. I will have to check to see if there is a sign of any growth.

  3. Racquel said,

    March 28, 2009 at 8:20 pm

    Wow they make a nice statement with their bold color! How lucky are you to have such a generous gardener to pass these along to you. 🙂

  4. Tyra said,

    March 29, 2009 at 4:36 am

    Hi Jan, they are amazing and how lucky they seems to be in you garden, beautiful!

    xoxo Tyra

  5. March 29, 2009 at 5:45 am

    Staring at the photo in amazement, I had to wring my eyes away to type the comments, Jan. I love amaryllis too, but now I’m crazy about them after seeing the red ones.

  6. Jan said,

    March 29, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    Tyra, I know I am very lucky to have such a generous offer of these amaryllis. They seem to be doing so well, too.

    Chandramouli, like I said, these are the ones that started me toward my addiction for amaryllis. They are great perennials for my garden. The flowers are fantastic, and the strap-like foliage makes a nice contrast to the other plants.

  7. April said,

    March 30, 2009 at 12:52 pm

    Jan, I had over 200 amaryllis bulbs in my yard when we moved in!!! Unreal huh! I shared half of them with fellow gardeners when I divided them. I have also found lots of them at hunting camps (around the old houses). They are just now beginning to bloom. I can’t wait to see them for the first time

  8. Jan said,

    March 31, 2009 at 4:36 am

    April, how generous of you to share. I know everyone must have been thrilled to get some. It is so nice that now bits of your garden are elsewhere. I love when there are big mass planting of these bulbs. Several of the older homes around here have that, and when they bloom, it is gorgeous. I wish now that I would have planted my big red ones a little closer instead of spacing them out to get that effect.


Leave a Reply

