At Last, the White

“At Last, the White”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

When my father passed away in early 2006, I decided to dedicate an area of the garden to him.  I decided to plant that area with all white flowers.  That spring, I planted an Iceberg rosebush, paperwhite narcissus, and white impatiens.  Late that autumn, I ordered white amaryllis bulbs so there would be white flowers for the early spring.  In the spring of 2007, only one bloomed, and it had a very short stem.  I wasn’t too surprised, since I had planted these bulbs so late.  In the spring of 2008, however, I was disappointed that none of the twelve bulbs bloomed.  Most of the bulbs had produced a lot of foliage, and they should have bloomed.  I guess they needed one more year to settle in because, at last, the white ones are blooming.

 

This year, there are at least eight bulbs that have produced flowers.  Only one has opened yet, and I guess these bloom a little later than the others I have.  With the first flower opening up, I am not disappointed with these amaryllis.  The flowers are pure white with a green throat, and go well with the white violas and wax begonias that are blooming at their bases.

 

white-amaryllis-redu

 

Last year, I added two more Iceberg roses, and all of the Icebergs now have buds, with many opening any day now.  With more amaryllis flowers yet to open, the roses, and the violas, this area of the garden should soon be a special place to remember my dad.

7 Comments

  1. March 29, 2009 at 11:49 pm

    That’s a nice tribute to your dad and one that lives on in his memory. I’m jealous of all your bloomers.

  2. Janet said,

    March 30, 2009 at 5:12 am

    Jan what a lovely idea to remember your dad. All white –I would imagine is very striking. Love the white amaryllis.

  3. Racquel said,

    March 30, 2009 at 6:16 am

    What a lovely idea to plant an all white garden in memory of your Dad. Your white Amaryllis are gorgeous!

  4. Phillip said,

    March 30, 2009 at 7:47 am

    I’m working on an all-white area too and it isn’t that easy. I can’t wait to see photos of yours.

  5. Randy said,

    March 30, 2009 at 8:48 am

    Just lovely Jan.
    What a wonderful tribute, are garden of pure white…

  6. Tyra said,

    March 30, 2009 at 9:25 am

    What a great idea and such a nice tribute to someone you love dearly.T Tyra

  7. Jan said,

    March 31, 2009 at 4:43 am

    Anna, making that little section of the garden a memory of him did help adjust to losing him. I feel a closer to him whenever I am there.

    Janet, the white is lovely, if I say so myself. I particularly like it is summer. All the green and white seems to make the heat less intense.

    Racquel, I can’t wait for the other buds to open on the white amaryllis. Maybe, they will last almost until the Easter lilies start blooming. That would be nice for a continuous wave of white color.

    Phillip, I love an all white garden. I think they look so cool and elegant. I’ll be posting pictures as more plants come into bloom.

    Randy, thanks. I am really pleased with how that section is coming along.

    Tyra, my dad was a gardener, so it was a natural idea to dedicate a part of my garden to him.


Leave a Reply

