Little Red

“Little Red”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Two days ago, I wrote about the big red amaryllis flowers that are populating the entry garden.  They aren’t the only amaryllis in those beds that flank the front walkway.  I also have a few small red flowering amaryllis that my sister gave me several years ago.  While these flowers lean more toward an orange-red, I still like them because of their smaller flowers.

 

small-red-amaryllis-redu

 

I think that their smaller size indicates that this is an older variety since the newer ones have much bigger flowers.  My sister received the original bulbs from an elderly couple in her old neighborhood.  I bet that couple never imagined that their amaryllis bulbs would travel so far from their home.

 

sm-red-amaryllis-group-redu

 

The amaryllis season is starting to wind down here.  There are just two more for me to feature here from my garden, and one variety has not opened yet.  Even though these little red amaryllis do not have the huge, showstopping blooms of the other ones I have shown you, I still like them and am glad they are in my garden.

 

 

7 Comments

  1. March 30, 2009 at 10:02 pm

    Now you’re making me really envious 😉 Love your Amaryllis blooms, Jan. How great to have so many bloom all at a time.

  2. andré said,

    March 31, 2009 at 12:17 am

    It’s great to see these in Sweden typically indoor, Christmas plants growing outside at your place. I can imagine they look really nice.

  3. March 31, 2009 at 1:29 am

    I have so enjoyed this show! So sad to hear you only have two more. You have inspired me to grow a few.

  4. Jan said,

    March 31, 2009 at 4:48 am

    Chandramouli, I have been working on collecting amaryllis for a few years now. Buying a few a year really adds up. Of course, the ones given to me by my sister and friend really helped. I don’t think I can stop now, I’m still looking to add more to help with the continuous blooms I want in the garden.

    Andre, it is a shame that more people cannot grow these outside. I guess being able to grow these here makes up for the heat we have during the summer.

    Anna, even if a gardener cannot grow them outside year round like I can, a large container of them would be lovely. It breaks my heart to hear of people just throwing out the ones they bought for Christmas blooms because they can be kept in containers for years.

  5. Janet said,

    March 31, 2009 at 5:09 am

    Well I checked yesterday afternoon to see if the amaryllis I planted last year were anywhere around….NO! 😦 So I have big and little amaryllis envy!

  6. Brenda Kula said,

    March 31, 2009 at 8:13 am

    Me too. Envious. Mine hasn’t done a thing.
    Brenda

  7. Jan said,

    April 1, 2009 at 4:35 am

    Janet, maybe yours are just a little late. You all have been having much colder weather than we have had. Hopefully, you’ll be seeing signs of a bud soon.

    Brenda, maybe yours, too, are just a little late. Don’t give up hope yet.


Leave a Reply

