Last Ones

“Last Ones”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

There are only two varieties of amaryllis that are now blooming in my garden that I haven’t featured yet.  Here are the last ones.  The first is a soft orange-colored one that was given to me about three years ago.  Unfortunately, the giver did not know the name of this particular amaryllis.  I usually do not like orange flowers, but this one is special because it is not a bright orange.  The gardener who gave me these bulbs also gave me some seeds from her plants which germinated very well.  While I am not sure what flowers will come from these seeds, I now have many small bulbs which may bloom in another year or two.  I hope they are this soft color.  The photo below shows the flower a little darker than it is in person.  If you compare it to the red of the pineapple sage flowers below it, you will see it is more orange than red as it seems to appear.

soft-orange-amaryllis-redu

The last amaryllis to open its flowers is Elvas which I bought in early January of 2008.  I purchased three bulbs at an after Christmas sale when they were still in bloom.  In April of 2008, I planted them in the ground, and today, when I was checking out the garden, this is what greeted me.  The first Elvas bud had opened.  This is another double-flowering kind.

elvas-amaryllis-redu

While the Elvas and the white ones of Sunday’s post are just starting to bloom, and the orange ones still have many buds that have not opened, the other amaryllis are slowly fading away.  I hate to see these lovely, spring flowers disappear.  The amaryllis flowers have been especially lovely this year, and as these last ones finish blooming, I take comfort in knowing that there are other flowers waiting their turn to blossom.

7 Comments

  1. Janet said,

    March 31, 2009 at 8:31 pm

    That white one is just gorgeous!

  2. Sheila said,

    March 31, 2009 at 8:36 pm

    Beautiful blooms!

  3. Melanthia said,

    March 31, 2009 at 9:11 pm

    What lovely flowers. Much more exotic than my spring flowers … daffodils!

  4. March 31, 2009 at 11:25 pm

    I love the second one! Just stunning!

  5. Jan said,

    April 1, 2009 at 4:42 am

    Janet, as soon as I saw that flower, I just had to have it. I am so happy that they did bloom this year because sometimes when they are planted, there are no flowers the first year.

    Sheila, thanks. I have to agree.

    Melanthia, don’t sell your daffodils short. They are lovely spring flowers. Most don’t repeat bloom here, so I stick with the small-flowered ones, but I love the bigger daffs.

    Tessa, yes, it is stunning. It is amazing what plant breeders are doing now.

  6. April 1, 2009 at 7:20 am

    Wow! The patterns on the first flower makes is unique! How cool to grow Amaryllis from seeds! Hope it turns out to be something really different. Good luck with them.

  7. Jan said,

    April 1, 2009 at 6:08 pm

    Chandramouli, I am anxious to see what comes from the seedlings. Too bad it will be a few years before they are big enough to bloom.


Leave a Reply

